IE8 Error

User avatar
E_OGRADY
2StarLounger
Posts: 117
Joined: 01 Apr 2010, 01:55

IE8 Error

Post by E_OGRADY »

I am in trouble again ? ?
Every time I try to access my ISP's web page I get the following error message
ie8 error message.gif
I can clich NO and them I get an information bar and have to answer the same question again.
Is this the security of IE8 or my Security software CA Security suite or other?
How do I change the performance?
I have reinstalled IE8
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
E_OGRADY
2StarLounger
Posts: 117
Joined: 01 Apr 2010, 01:55

Re: IE8 Error

Post by E_OGRADY »

OK I talk to myself ?
This seems to have worked
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/ie/f ... 4f9b973585" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Basically as below
1. Go to Tools -> Internet Options -> Security
2. Select the "Security" tab -> Click the "Custom Level" button
3. In the "Miscellaneous" section change “Display mixed content” to Enable.

I will monitor the situation and report back if there is change

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 12000
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: IE8 Error

Post by StuartR »

This is poor programming practice on the part of your ISP, but it is very common.

The usual reason for this message is that they have a secure web page that includes links to adverts or other non-secure content.
StuartR


User avatar
E_OGRADY
2StarLounger
Posts: 117
Joined: 01 Apr 2010, 01:55

Re: IE8 Error

Post by E_OGRADY »

Thank you Stuart, I believe you are totally correct, I have got rid of the error messages by changing various settings under Advanced tab, however I now have lost my RAID configuration on the boot drives (not related to the IE8 Error). (See that post in hardware).
Whether I have done the correct thing in changing the options is questionable, I have not had a chance to record the setting prior to returning those settings to the defaults.
I installed some software that, like some current installers, add in other browsers, toolbars etc. I missed this one and the system has been degraded ever since.
Last edited by E_OGRADY on 15 Aug 2011, 14:58, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 74683
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: IE8 Error

Post by HansV »

I don't think changing browser settings can affect the RAID configuration of your PC...
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
E_OGRADY
2StarLounger
Posts: 117
Joined: 01 Apr 2010, 01:55

Re: IE8 Error

Post by E_OGRADY »

No I must have confused the post. When I have problems they generally go in threes.