Google 1 VPN

RonH
SilverLounger

Google 1 VPN

Post by RonH »

Any known issues/concerns using this VPN?
It's available free on my Google Pixel and I realise that it's a fairly basic service but perhaps some Eileen folk have usage experience.
Thanks
CYa Ron
W11 pc, Android toys.
The only reason we have the 4th dimension of Time is so that everything does not happen at once.

PaulB
BronzeLounger

Re: Google 1 VPN

Post by PaulB »

I have no experience with Google VPN. That said, trust in your provider is the most important element in choosing a VPN service. Do you feel confident sending all your internet traffic through Google servers? Do you care? Remember, while all your VPN traffic is encrypted between you and your provider, it is decrypted by your provider in order to send it on to its ultimate destination.

On the other hand most if not all internet traffic is over HTTPS connections and is encrypted between you and your ultimate destination. In this case, a VPN encrypts already encrypted communications. So what value does a VPN add to the equation?
Regards,
Paul

The pessimist complains about the wind. The optimist expects it to change. The realist adjusts his sails.

RonH
SilverLounger

Post by RonH »

Thanks Paul for taking time out.

Do I need VPN ... not really. But I like to experiment with various technologies.

As you say, most connections are HTTPS. My Internet habits are 'careful' but if Google helps to avoid trackers I assume that is a good result? My banking is about as secure as is possible.

Do I trust Google. Yes, as much as any other ... I use a Google Pixel because I love the lack of bloat ware and their camera image quality.
CYa Ron
W11 pc, Android toys.
The only reason we have the 4th dimension of Time is so that everything does not happen at once.

StuartR
Administrator

Post by StuartR »