Looking for an App

BobH
UraniumLounger

Looking for an App

Post by BobH »

Does anyone know of an app that will track and report response time?

As an old programmer (old being the operant term), I think it might be possible; but I have no experience with the PC platform. I wish it were an option in the OS and would update a box in the lower right corner of my screen where the 'notifications' box currently lives. In my age-affected mind, the timer would start when the enter key is pressed and would stop and display when a new screen is displayed. Of course, it would have to be based on each open tab and not be affected by changing tabs, ie, the timer would not be invoked when changing tabs.

Many decades ago I ran a multi-state private data network; there were no public ones in those days. It was driven by IBM hardware, AT&T modems, and CICS on the mainframe. We didn't have tools robust enough at the time, but I always wanted to put a response time counter on the screen when it was refreshed; so that we could track and confirm what users were reporting as slow response so that we could troubleshoot and resolve issues.

:cheers: :chocciebar: :thankyou:
Bob's yer Uncle
(1/2)(1+√5)
Dell Intel Core i5 Laptop, 3570K,1.60 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Windows 11 64-bit, LibreOffice,and other bits and bobs

stuck
Panoramic Lounger

Re: Looking for an App

Post by stuck »

BobH wrote:
06 Mar 2024, 18:23
...the timer would start when the enter key is pressed and would stop and display when a new screen is displayed...
Does that mean you want to measure how long it takes your laptop to do a particular task, like:
open a document / spreadsheet / a file stored locally on the laptop
open any one of the myriad of Settings screens in Windows
open a webpage?

For the third of those options, does this Google search help you?
    https://www.google.com/search?q=measure ... +load+time

Ken

BobH
UraniumLounger

Post by BobH »