Is it possible at all?

bakunet
NewLounger
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 May 2016, 16:56

Is it possible at all?

Post by bakunet »

Hi there.
I am coming to you with some issues.

I receive feed of some data that it is refreshed every 1-3s. Feed can be placed in excel cell using some special formula, and it is refreshed automaticly by the software.

Issue 1) Is it possible to save this feed as a number in separate different cell, that it will be not changed anymore with next refreshment of the feed?

Issue 2) Is it possible to make action from issue 1) every (x) seconds in another row, automaticly?

If yes, how to do it?

Thank you in advance for your help.

EDIT: please check image:

Image
Last edited by bakunet on 26 May 2016, 17:19, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78668
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Is it possible at all?

Post by HansV »

Welcome to Eileen's Lounge!

How is the feed placed currently?
Best wishes,
Hans

bakunet
NewLounger
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 May 2016, 16:56

Re: Is it possible at all?

Post by bakunet »

please check image:

Image

User avatar
Rudi
gamma jay
Posts: 25455
Joined: 17 Mar 2010, 17:33
Location: Cape Town

Re: Is it possible at all?

Post by Rudi »

Welcome from me too...

An event triggered macro could write the value of the feed into another range.
Are you sure you want this to occur automatically as it will be disruptive to the workbook and you will loose undo's etc...
Regards,
Rudi

If your absence does not affect them, your presence didn't matter.

bakunet
NewLounger
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 May 2016, 16:56

Re: Is it possible at all?

Post by bakunet »

Rudi wrote:Welcome from me too...

An event triggered macro could write the value of the feed into another range.
Are you sure you want this to occur automatically as it will be disruptive to the workbook and you will loose undo's etc...
Yes, I want workbook to do it automatically every 10s, 20s or whatever. I found out already, that I can use function "paste only values", but still I have no idea how to do it automatically.

User avatar
Rudi
gamma jay
Posts: 25455
Joined: 17 Mar 2010, 17:33
Location: Cape Town

Re: Is it possible at all?

Post by Rudi »

Must each iteration of the macro;
(1) overwrite the values of the previous run or
(2) must it be appended below the previous (as in retaining history)
Regards,
Rudi

If your absence does not affect them, your presence didn't matter.

bakunet
NewLounger
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 May 2016, 16:56

Re: Is it possible at all?

Post by bakunet »

Rudi wrote:Must each iteration of the macro;
(1) overwrite the values of the previous run or
(2) must it be appended below the previous (as in retaining history)
Thanks for help. Problem solved. I used:

Range("A1").Select
Selection.Copy
Range("a65536") _
.End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0).PasteSpecial Paste:=xlValues

Application.OnTime for repeating.

User avatar
Rudi
gamma jay
Posts: 25455
Joined: 17 Mar 2010, 17:33
Location: Cape Town

Re: Is it possible at all?

Post by Rudi »

Ah... Great!
So you are keeping a history of changes...

Are you only copying cell A1?

You can clean up the code by using just this one line:

Code: Select all

Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Offset(1).Value = Range("A1").Value
Regards,
Rudi

If your absence does not affect them, your presence didn't matter.