I would like a Macro to run in Word that would then connect to an ODBC source, then an SQL script run to capture values from the database. Is this a pipe dream, or is it possible?
Thanks
Using Macro to connect to ODBC and run SQL script
-
- 4StarLounger
- Posts: 504
- Joined: 23 Jul 2010, 18:36
- Location: Westlake, OHIO
Using Macro to connect to ODBC and run SQL script
Who will you Inspire today?
-
- 4StarLounger
- Posts: 504
- Joined: 23 Jul 2010, 18:36
- Location: Westlake, OHIO
Re: Using Macro to connect to ODBC and run SQL script
Sorry, I have more info. I want those values then to fill fields on the Word document.
Who will you Inspire today?
-
- Administrator
- Posts: 79675
- Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
- Status: Microsoft MVP
- Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands
Re: Using Macro to connect to ODBC and run SQL script
That should be doable:
- Create an ADODB connection to the database.
- Open a recordset.
- Get data from the fields of the recordset and use them to populate fields in the Word document.
- Create an ADODB connection to the database.
- Open a recordset.
- Get data from the fields of the recordset and use them to populate fields in the Word document.
Best wishes,
Hans
Hans
-
- 4StarLounger
- Posts: 504
- Joined: 23 Jul 2010, 18:36
- Location: Westlake, OHIO
Re: Using Macro to connect to ODBC and run SQL script
The script that I want to run would include variables based upon fields captured on an html form. It would be something like:
select alphanum from jkl.running where primaryvalue = [variableprovided]
Then paste the alphanum into a Mail Merge field or some other way of telling the system where it belongs on the letter.
I cannot use a recordset as the values will be changing daily.
select alphanum from jkl.running where primaryvalue = [variableprovided]
Then paste the alphanum into a Mail Merge field or some other way of telling the system where it belongs on the letter.
I cannot use a recordset as the values will be changing daily.
Who will you Inspire today?
-
- Administrator
- Posts: 79675
- Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
- Status: Microsoft MVP
- Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands
Re: Using Macro to connect to ODBC and run SQL script
The idea would be to generate a SQL string dynamically in your VBA code, i.e. in runtime.
Then open a recordset on that dynamically generated SQL string.
Then open a recordset on that dynamically generated SQL string.
Best wishes,
Hans
Hans
-
- 5StarLounger
- Posts: 619
- Joined: 14 Nov 2012, 16:06
Re: Using Macro to connect to ODBC and run SQL script
You can link a Word merge master document to any database.
No Macro needed.
No Macro needed.
-
- 5StarLounger
- Posts: 659
- Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 15:56
- Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Re: Using Macro to connect to ODBC and run SQL script
I think Timeford wants this to run without user intervention at that point. Anything needed would be in the macro or the html form.
Attorney Charles Kenyon
Templates in Microsoft Word
Modifying the QAT
The Importance of Styles in Microsoft Word
Templates in Microsoft Word
Modifying the QAT
The Importance of Styles in Microsoft Word
-
- Lounger
- Posts: 43
- Joined: 07 Jun 2023, 15:34
Re: Using Macro to connect to ODBC and run SQL script
I use this for invoices, with data from SQL Server (see the macro: "Consulta_Factura"):
invoice_template.docm
invoice_template.docm
-
- 5StarLounger
- Posts: 619
- Joined: 14 Nov 2012, 16:06
Re: Using Macro to connect to ODBC and run SQL script
Nothing simpler without user intervention than a macro:Charles Kenyon wrote: ↑01 Oct 2023, 20:50I think Timeford wants this to run without user intervention at that point. Anything needed would be in the macro or the html form.
Code: Select all
With documents.open(G:\OF\master.docx")
.mailmerge.execute
.close -1
end with
activedocument.printout
-
- 4StarLounger
- Posts: 504
- Joined: 23 Jul 2010, 18:36
- Location: Westlake, OHIO
Re: Using Macro to connect to ODBC and run SQL script
Thank you all. This is all good information.
Who will you Inspire today?