Hello All,
I have looked at north wind database to learn from it, and I found something confusing if someone can explain to me will be greate
in the products table we have StandardUnitCost and UnitPrice and in the PurchaseOrderDetails we have UnitCost , what are the diffenece between these, as my understanding StandardUnitCost is avaerage cost of the unit , and UnitPrice is the selling price of a single unit of a product
but what is the unicost in the PurchaseOrderDetails
Question about northwind database design
-
- BronzeLounger
- Posts: 1323
- Joined: 01 May 2016, 09:58
Question about northwind database design
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Administrator
- Posts: 79693
- Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
- Status: Microsoft MVP
- Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands
Re: Question about northwind database design
When you create a purchase order, the value of StandardUnitCost in the Products table is copied to the UnitCost field of the new record in PurchaseOrderDetails.
Why? Even if the StandardUnitCost in Products changes later on, the UnitCost value in PurchaseOrderDetails will remain the same - you don't want the cost of past purchases to be changed retroactively.
Why? Even if the StandardUnitCost in Products changes later on, the UnitCost value in PurchaseOrderDetails will remain the same - you don't want the cost of past purchases to be changed retroactively.
Best wishes,
Hans
Hans
-
- BronzeLounger
- Posts: 1323
- Joined: 01 May 2016, 09:58
Re: Question about northwind database design
thank you very much for the reply,
what i understood from you is Standard unit cost in product table = Unit cost of PurchaseOrderDetails table and using programming technique will be copied automatically am I right ?
- what about Unit price in Product table what is the use of it and why we need it?
what i understood from you is Standard unit cost in product table = Unit cost of PurchaseOrderDetails table and using programming technique will be copied automatically am I right ?
- what about Unit price in Product table what is the use of it and why we need it?
-
- Administrator
- Posts: 79693
- Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
- Status: Microsoft MVP
- Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands
Re: Question about northwind database design
Yes, the StandardUnitCost value is copied to the UnitCost value by VBA code.
UnitCost is how much the company that uses the database pays to purchase an item.
UnitPrice is the amount they sell it for to their customers.
So UitPrice will almost always be higher than UnitCost.
UnitCost is how much the company that uses the database pays to purchase an item.
UnitPrice is the amount they sell it for to their customers.
So UitPrice will almost always be higher than UnitCost.
Best wishes,
Hans
Hans
-
- BronzeLounger
- Posts: 1323
- Joined: 01 May 2016, 09:58
Re: Question about northwind database design
Ok, so the Unit Price will be selling price which will be filled during making order and the Unit cost will be the purchasing price from the vendor right?
-
- Administrator
- Posts: 79693
- Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
- Status: Microsoft MVP
- Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands
-
- BronzeLounger
- Posts: 1323
- Joined: 01 May 2016, 09:58
Re: Question about northwind database design
Thank you very much for confirming