MAC Code

Leesha
BronzeLounger
Posts: 1389
Joined: 05 Feb 2010, 22:25

MAC Code

Post by Leesha »

Hi,
I am using the code below for a database. It checks the username that is stored in the DB with the username for the computer. If they are not the same, a message is give that says the DB is not licensed to the computer and then shuts down the DB. The user has requests to be able to run the DB on MAC. I've only programmed for PC's. Will those code (which is stored in a module) work on a MAC?

Thanks,
Leesha

Public Function GetUserName() As String
GetUserName = Environ("UserName")
End Function

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 74792
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: MAC Code

Post by HansV »

Microsoft Access only runs on Windows. There is no version for MacOS.
However, on many Macs, it is possible to emulate Windows; if the user can do this, they should be able to use your database without modification.
Regards,
Hans

Leesha
BronzeLounger
Posts: 1389
Joined: 05 Feb 2010, 22:25

Re: MAC Code

Post by Leesha »

Good to know. I will do a search on how to emulate windows on a Mac.
Thanks Hans!

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 74792
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: MAC Code

Post by HansV »

Regards,
Hans

Leesha
BronzeLounger
Posts: 1389
Joined: 05 Feb 2010, 22:25

Re: MAC Code

Post by Leesha »

Thanks so much!!!