Shut off display

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

For decades I have had my computer set to turn off the display after a certain time of no use. I now cannot find that option, all I can do is put the computer to sleep. This means that the next time I want to use it, I have to wait a fair while for it to awaken. Very frustrating.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 71177
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Shut off display

Post by HansV »

Select Start > Settings.
Select System.
Select 'Power & Sleep' in the navigation pane on the left.

S0360.png
S0361.png
S0362.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

Over the last few months, I have googled this and only ever managed to have the computer go to sleep.
I can't comprehend how I missed this obvious way of doing it. Probably the way I have always been doing it.
I am embarrassed :sad: .
ThanksHansStamp.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

Nope! Unfortunately that doesn't work.
10 min delay was fine, 1 hour delay reverted to computer going to sleep, taking 1 min to wake up.
Anyone have an idea as to what else can be coming into play?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 71177
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Shut off display

Post by HansV »

Click the Start button.
Type control panel and press Enter.
Select Power.
Click Change when the computer sleeps
You'll see the monitor off and computer sleep times here.
Click Change advanced power settings
You'll see here when the hard disk is shut off.
Does that provide a clue?
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
DaveA
GoldLounger
Posts: 2536
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 15:26
Location: Olympia, WA

Re: Shut off display

Post by DaveA »

Remember that depending on what ALL you have running at the of power down, it will take longer to start back up.

ALL programs and files are copied to the hard drive and then copies back to RAM, a minute is NOT beyond being reasonable!
I am so far behind, I think I am First :evilgrin:
Genealogy....confusing the dead and annoying the living

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

Hans, hard disc shut off time = 0. I looked at this a few days ago. I assume that this means it never shuts off.
Dave, I don't want it to power down/sleep. All I want is to turn of the display.
I found a registry alteration, I'll let you know how that goes.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

Registry hack did nothing.
I'm resigned to having the monitor on continuously.
Bummer.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger
Posts: 11977
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 23:23
Location: paused.undefined.exposed

Re: Shut off display

Post by ChrisGreaves »

Peter Kinross wrote:
03 May 2021, 05:23
For decades I have had my computer set to turn off the display after a certain time of no use. I now cannot find that option, all I can do is put the computer to sleep. This means that the next time I want to use it, I have to wait a fair while for it to awaken. Very frustrating.
Hi Peter.
I am resigned to the fact that every computer is different.
Some of the responses in this thread may re-assure you that you are sane!
Cheers
Chris
I have been in a state of countesslessness all my life

JoeP
SilverLounger
Posts: 1631
Joined: 25 Jan 2010, 02:12

Re: Shut off display

Post by JoeP »

If you have Fast startup enabled try disabling it. Go to Control Panel | System and Security | Power Options. Then in the left navigation pane click on "Choose what the power buttons do". You see the fast startup setting in the shutdown section.
Joe

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 71177
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Shut off display

Post by HansV »

In addition to what JoeP wrote: in order to change the 'Turn on fast startup' setting, I first have to click 'Change settings that are currently unavailable'.

S0393.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,
Hans

JoeP
SilverLounger
Posts: 1631
Joined: 25 Jan 2010, 02:12

Re: Shut off display

Post by JoeP »

Thanks Hans. I forgot that last piece.

@Peter, fast startup has been known to cause strange things to happen. Systems that have been running perfectly will suddenly start exhibiting strange behavior. This could be after a patch, a system update, new software app, updated software app. Just about anything.
Joe

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 71177
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Shut off display

Post by HansV »

I agree with Joe.

At one point, a Windows update turned Fast Startup on again on my laptop'; until I found out what happened, I had to boot it twice each time - the first time it would just hang. Speaking about "Fast" startup...
Regards,
Hans

jolas
2StarLounger
Posts: 138
Joined: 02 Feb 2010, 23:58

Re: Shut off display

Post by jolas »

If you are still looking for a solution. I have attached a zip file with a batch file to do what want.
I created a desktop shortcut to the batch file so I could have it run minimized. Just be aware that a slight mouse movement, a mouse click or a keyboard tap will wake the monitor.

Here is the content of the batch file:

powershell (Add-Type '[DllImport(\"user32.dll\")]^public static extern int SendMessage(int hWnd, int hMsg, int wParam, int lParam);' -Name a -Pas)::SendMessage(-1,0x0112,0xF170,2)

Found this tip here.

There other non windows solution that may interest you too.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

Sorry for the delay, but no emails arrived from the Lounge saying I had answers.
I tried the disabling Fast Startup, but that option was not there. I did click the 'Change settings that are currently available' but that line then just disappeared and did nothing.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
Leif
Administrator
Posts: 7019
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 08:21

Re: Shut off display

Post by Leif »

Leif.

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

Jolas, I assume that I would have to double click on the shortcut. Nearly the same as switching of the monitor. The problem is that I when I stop computer activity I frequently don't know if I will be back on in 60 seconds or 60 hours.
But huge thanks for digging up that file.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

Leif, I think, from the entries above, that I want Fast Startup turned off. How do I tell if it is on or off?
(BTW - LOVE that dog, what sort?)
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
Leif
Administrator
Posts: 7019
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 08:21

Re: Shut off display

Post by Leif »

Peter Kinross wrote:
27 May 2021, 06:49
Leif, I think, from the entries above, that I want Fast Startup turned off. How do I tell if it is on or off?
(BTW - LOVE that dog, what sort?)
Scroll down in the link I gave you until you reach the section titled "How To Check If The Turn On Fast Startup Feature Is Enabled"

(Cockapoo :smile:)
Leif.

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

Thanks Leif, I had already been there, sadly the screen shown in that link differs from mine - see post above.
Darned frustrating; assuming my monitor chews through 150 watts (pure guess), that would amount to 6 cents/hour, at 20 hours non use per day = $1.20. = $36/month = $430/year. All because of something MS have done in one of their updates. Grrrrrrrrrrrr.
I just did powercfg /hibernate off, maybe that will make a diff, if so, I will post SUCCESS.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter