Shut off display

User avatar
Rebel
4StarLounger
Posts: 472
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 16:02
Location: Hanmer, Ontario, Canada

Re: Shut off display

Post by Rebel »

Just out of curiosity, is the computer in question a desktop or a laptop?
John :canada:
A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

Desktop
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
Leif
Administrator
Posts: 7019
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 08:21

Re: Shut off display

Post by Leif »

Peter Kinross wrote:
28 May 2021, 04:14
Thanks Leif, I had already been there, sadly the screen shown in that link differs from mine - see post above.
Darned frustrating; assuming my monitor chews through 150 watts (pure guess), that would amount to 6 cents/hour, at 20 hours non use per day = $1.20. = $36/month = $430/year.
Did you check the settings in Administrator mode?

Did you check if there is a driver update for your monitor?

150W sounds excessive. I just checked the nearest screen to me, and with an external PSU, it is rated at 12VDC/3A, which equates to 36W. If you are truly wasting $430 a year, the obvious thing to do would be to buy a more efficient monitor...
Leif.

User avatar
Rebel
4StarLounger
Posts: 472
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 16:02
Location: Hanmer, Ontario, Canada

Re: Shut off display

Post by Rebel »

If it is impossible (for whatever reason) to find that setting within Windows, would it not be just as simple (I know - not as convenient) to simply turn the monitor off and on via the monitor power switch? :scratch:

You certainly don't have to be "resigned to having the monitor on continuously".
John :canada:
A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

Far too often I leave the room intending to come straight back and don't. Thus I would get what I now have, nothing lost, nothing gained. The converse also, a lot of times I would turn the monitor off only to want it back on within a few mins - which would definitely be OK.
So it would appear, in the absence of any alternative, turning it off would be about the only option. So I'll give it a go.
Thanks all
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
Rebel
4StarLounger
Posts: 472
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 16:02
Location: Hanmer, Ontario, Canada

Re: Shut off display

Post by Rebel »

Just saw this article. There are several suggestions pertaining to your problem. No guarantees of course, but it might be worth a look.
John :canada:
A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

Thanks John. I had all the settings they recommended set as they said. However, I ran the troubleshooter that they advised. It changed a few settings, I'll have to wait and see. Will let you know.
Thanks again.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 854
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: Shut off display

Post by Peter Kinross »

No diff at all, still exactly the same - frustrating.
Thanks anyway.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter