Connecting PCs across a network

Networking, connecting to the internet, wi-fi and home entertainment
bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

I have searched with Google to allow access across my network. I can "see" other pcs in my network, and I know all the passwords, but I get an error in name and/or password. What Do I do to complete a link?

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 11696
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by StuartR »

What versions of Windows do these computers use?
Have you created shares that you can connect to?
Do you have the SAME username and password on all these computers?
StuartR


bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

Lets call the acquiring pc A and the data to be linked B.
A Win 10
B Win 7
Both have the same password, but different names.

User avatar
DaveA
GoldLounger
Posts: 2569
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 15:26
Location: Olympia, WA

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by DaveA »

Have you shared anything on both machines?
I am so far behind, I think I am First :evilgrin:
Genealogy....confusing the dead and annoying the living

bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

B is shaered, I'm not sure the steps to share A.

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 11696
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by StuartR »

bknight wrote:
12 Jan 2022, 14:05
Both have the same password, but different names.
The easiest way to get this to work is to create a second user on the Win7 PC that has the SAME username and password as the user on the Win10 PC. You don't neet to log in to this username, it just needs to be there so that the Win10 PC can connect.

There are other ways to do this, but that is the easiest.
StuartR


bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

After creating another user on B with the same name as A's name. I select that pc (B) under networks, I get a panel that "allows" me to link to the pc, but when I enter the password I get an error that either the name and/or password is incorrect.

In other words, I don't see users on B all I see is the name of the pc.

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 11696
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by StuartR »

Does computer B have a username and password that are IDENTICAL to the username and password on computer A?

Can you right click on a command prompt on computer A, choose run as administrator, and then type the following commands. (Replacing computerB with the correct name of the computer, and replacing username with the username that you created on computer B)

NET USE \\computerB\IPC$ /user:username
this should prompt you to enter the password

NET VIEW \\computerB
this should display all shares that you have created on computer B

What output do you get?
StuartR


bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

There was no list of users but both commands were executed successfully. The last prints out a table header
Share name type Used as Comment
then a row of bullets

bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

Still no luck accessing B.

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 11696
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by StuartR »

That sounds like you don't have any shares created on B. What did you do on computer B to share the data?
StuartR


bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

This is all the sharing I could find. Are there more?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 11696
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by StuartR »

OK, you have turned on file and printer sharing, but based on the screen shot in the email you sent me you haven't actually shared any folders.

Can you open Windows Explorer, right click on the folder you want to share, and select properties, then go to the Sharing tab and click Advanced Sharing, then check "Share this folder"

If you want remote users to be able to write data to the folder, as well as read it, then you will need to click the Permissions button to enable that.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
StuartR


bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

Performed that, but A and B are not connected to have the sharing do any good. You have mail.

bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

On a lark, I did the advance sharing of the C: acting like it is the folder, but still no luck.

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 11696
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by StuartR »

OK, thank you. I have responded to your email and I will update this thread when we get a bit further
StuartR


bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

This is a partial solution
On computer A:

Run Command prompt with admin privileges (right click on a shortcut and choose Run as administrator)



NET USE \\computerB\IPC$ /user:username

(replace computer and username with the correct computer name and username for computer B)



NET VIEW \\computerB

(this should display any available shares on computerB)
I am able to run a dir on B. I am also able to copy files from B to A, which was the concept of the thread.
I have not been able to copy folders, however. That bit of architecture eludes me.

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 11696
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by StuartR »

At this stage I think you may have a permissions problem on the specific folders you're trying to copy.
StuartR


bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

StuartR wrote:
13 Jan 2022, 22:27
At this stage I think you may have a permissions problem on the specific folders you're trying to copy.
You were correct. I believe I read somewhere that the parent properties are passed down to children, but I have changed the sharing of all of the folders and will attempt another copy in a while.

bknight
5StarLounger
Posts: 762
Joined: 08 Jul 2016, 18:53

Re: Connecting PCs across a network

Post by bknight »

After NET USE G: \\computerB\C
I attempted a xcopy command that copied only files from necessary directory, but no folders were copied. :groan: