A Wireless Router Saga

Networking, connecting to the internet, wi-fi and home entertainment
Bigaldoc
PlatinumLounger

A Wireless Router Saga

Post by Bigaldoc »

Not too sure I like all this wireless technology stuff! Up until my son got involved with a question to me, I have had ZERO experience with wireless.

In MAY of this year (that's a short TWO months ago!) my son's two boys were interested in going "live on-line" with their Xbox 360 and my son was game for a shot, with some decent pricing on the venture. In order to do the deed, he bought a wireless Belkin router, the price and model number is not too important, I don't think. When we first set it up he had some dropped connection problems but things have been fine ever since.

Yesterday he called me for help for they (he and the boys) could not get the Xbox online and the router was giving them problems. Between us we tried all kinds of trial-and-error diagnostics, with and without the Belkin router, leading us both to the conclusion that the Belkin was a dead duck.

All of this background is leading to the purpose of this post of comment. After extensive Googling and reading of reviews on both our parts, he decided on a local purchase (Best Buy) of a NetGear wireless router (NETGEAR - RangeMax Wireless-N 150 Router - WPN824N-100NAS) and I went to his home to help with the installation and setup.

I have to give NetGear credit for the installation went like a breeze and we got the Xbox 360 connected in no time. Now all he has to do is hope the "life" of this one is a bit more prolonged than the Belkin he bought just two short months ago.