How does the internet work (videos)?

Networking, connecting to the internet, wi-fi and home entertainment
User avatar
ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger
Posts: 15877
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 23:23
Location: brings.slot.perky

How does the internet work (videos)?

Post by ChrisGreaves »

Forum?
So I'm watching a YouTube video and decide to switch to Full Screen.
My laptop must now send about four times as many pixels to the monitor, compared to when the video played in a window about 4"x3".

Does the laptop receive the same number of pixels/bytes down the line from YouTube?
Or can the laptop browser send a signal to YouTube "I'll need the full screen" or "I'll only need enough bytes for the 4"x3" window"?

That is, can the laptop/browser reduce data flow down the line according to the window size chosen by the user?
Thanks, Chris
I’ve been tidying the junk out of my shed for five years, and now can hardly get into the shed

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 12697
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: How does the internet work (videos)?

Post by StuartR »

StuartR


User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 79020
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: How does the internet work (videos)?

Post by HansV »

I think Youtube selects a resolution depending on the connection speed, and leaves it to the local device to display it at the requested size.
When I click the Settings gear and click on Quality:

S2573.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Best wishes,
Hans

User avatar
ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger
Posts: 15877
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 23:23
Location: brings.slot.perky

Re: How does the internet work (videos)?

Post by ChrisGreaves »

HansV wrote:
01 Jul 2024, 19:38
I think Youtube selects a resolution depending on the connection speed, and leaves it to the local device to display it at the requested size. When I click the Settings gear and click on Quality:
Thanks you Hans and Stuart. It took me several minutes searching Settings for "resolution" and "quality" to no avail, before I remembered the gear wheel which I use for setting speed of replay.

So initially the rate of pixels is set automatically between the browser and YouTube. Mine was set to Auto.

I tested by pulling up a Seinfeld episode and using 1080 and then 144. I am ashamed to admit that I know several Seinfeld episodes by heart, so a grainy image is OK there, as it would be if I am working in some other application and have Alt+Tabbed the browser behind the application. Stuart's reference suggests a low-resolution for a video that is basically instrumental - we need only the Audio track there, right?

I unloaded then re-loaded the browser and found that for YouTube videos the quality setting stuck, which is good news.

Then I made the mistake of falling (grin) for Steve Mould's You can't hide the batteries when it's transparent! perpetual motion simulator. That allows me tor ramp up to a very fine detail.
Untitled.png
and out here on the tip of the Bonavista Peninsula basically stops the video altogether but leaves the audio running. Which is frustrating.

I can see that I shall need to spend a lot more time on YouTube exploring the "quality" feature. So be it.

"Stuttering" playback is sometimes an issue, so I think that when the d/l speed drops, I might be able to complete a video by quickly dropping the quality for that video.
Thanks again, Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I’ve been tidying the junk out of my shed for five years, and now can hardly get into the shed