A "Granny Phone"

Bigaldoc
PlatinumLounger

A "Granny Phone"

Post by Bigaldoc »

A Granny Phone? Merlene Davis of the Lexington Herald-Leader often writes humorous columns and this is one of 'em! Kinda reminds me of ME and my now two month old Blackberry which I'm STILL learning how to use, well beyond the "change my mind" 30 days. Cute stuff, Merlene!

A phone isn't just a phone; it's an image

garbsmj
4StarLounger

Re: A "Granny Phone"

Post by garbsmj »

Al,

I was watching a conference online and this guy whips out his iphone and then proceeds to try to find something on it. Not only did it disrupt his train of thought but the other panel members started looking over to see what he was looking at. It sort of cut into the conference.

At another meeting, this guy whips out his iphone to show us the cool app he had that was like a ghost hunter. So he's waving it around and all he came up with was "Mississippi." We then had to discuss this for the next fifteen unproductive minutes.

Give me the granny phone - less distracting.
When one cat leaves, another mysteriously shows up.

Goshute
3StarLounger

Post by Goshute »

Bigaldoc wrote:A Granny Phone?
(Low-key rant and mumbling post - do not read if you have something better to do)

The Bride and I are both facing this decision, and this lead to a discussion about the changes in how phones are used and where it will leave PCs. A majority of people now seem to use their phones for all internet and browsing services, making and storing videos and photos and GPS navigation; since so many services, including web-based word processing and spreadsheeting products, are now on the net, we are wondering if PC will be used less and less for personal use, and be relegated to a business tool.