Shadow Protect User question

viking33
PlatinumLounger

Shadow Protect User question

Post by viking33 »

This is for any users of Shadow Protect|Win 7 64bit|Mozilla Thunderbird.

I've been using Acronis True Image for MANY years now and am\was very happy with it. I've only changed from Outlook Express to Thunderbird maybe 4 or 5 months ago? Recently, I tried to make an image of JUST my email messages, contacts list, etc. that TI allows you to do instead of a full image. The image appeared to create OK and it validated fine. Tuesday, I tried to do a restore of the email messages, due to being too quick on the delete button. A sad tale ensues....The restore didn't work, even though TI said it restored without a problem. Apparently, it only restored the contact list but NOT the email messages. Went to online chat with TI techs in India ( two different ones ) and we attempted many things to make things restore but I had to surrender after a number of hours, saying "let's pick this up another day."
I did some googling and found a couple of sites that said that in effect that TI does not work and is not compatible with TBIRD!!
So after an exercise in futility with Acronis's own tech reps, I find that this is a known bug in TI??? :bash:

So we are finally at the question for SP/TB users.
Does SP have a feature that will allow imaging JUST TB, including the actual email messages, not just the program itself?
Talking to a SP rep, he said it should do it but wasn't sure if it would include the messages.
TI did include messages if they were in Outlook Express, Live mail and other MS mail formats. I know that I can get the messages from a FULL image even with TB.
BOB
:massachusetts: :usa:

If I agreed with you we'd both be wrong.

Bigaldoc
PlatinumLounger

Re: Shadow Protect User question

Post by Bigaldoc »

That's a sad tale of woe, Bob. As far as I know, Shadow Protect will image ONLY partitions, NOT individual files. Sorry.

Rebel
4StarLounger