How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 5003
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by John Gray »

This relates to most of the 'recent' Internet Explorer versions, but we now (at last) have IE11.

There are two locations where we need to insert website-like character strings:
* in Tools -> Pop-up Blocker -> Pop-up Blocker settings -> Allowed sites
* in Tools -> Internet options -> Security tab -> Trusted Sites -> Websites
(although not necessarily the same specifications in both!).

I am unsure whether the specification of
*.domain.com
covers all of
domain.com
subdomain.domain.com
http://domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
https://domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
https://www.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://subdomain.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
https://subdomain.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.subdomain.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
https://www.subdomain.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

... and perhaps other variants.

Can someone deeply knowledgeable please elucidate?
John Gray

Think how stupid the average person is, then realise that half of the population are stupider than that.

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 72233
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by HansV »

In both cases: yes. We use a web application in my daytime job that works with databases whose URLs are of the form you mention: a domain with several subdomains. The web application requires that the URLs are trusted and that popups from the URLs are allowed. Adding *.domain.com is sufficient.
(For trusted sites, you have to clear the check box "Require server verification (https:) for all sites in this zone" before adding *.domain.com)
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 5003
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by John Gray »

Thank you!

In the Pop-up Blocker Allow we have
*.domain1.com
*.domain2.com
*.domain3.com
domain1.com
domain2.com
domain3.com


and in the Trusted Sites websites we have
*.domain1.com
subdomain1A.domain1.com
subdomain1B.domain1.com
subdomain1C.domain1.com
...
subdomain1N.domain1.com
subdomain2A.domain2.com
subdomain3A.domain3.com
w w w.domain4.com
w w w.domain5.com

(spaces to prevent the forum software sticking 'http://' at the front)

which latter shows a significant degree of specification confusion!
John Gray

Think how stupid the average person is, then realise that half of the population are stupider than that.

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 72233
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by HansV »

The following should be sufficient:

Pop-up Blocker:
*.domain1.com
*.domain2.com
*.domain3.com


Trusted Sites:
*.domain1.com
*.domain2.com
*.domain3.com
*.domain4.com
*.domain5.com
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 5003
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by John Gray »

Thanks again - I will do some testing...
John Gray

Think how stupid the average person is, then realise that half of the population are stupider than that.

User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 5003
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by John Gray »

Interesting.
Even though the popup blocker window shows
*.domain1.com
*.domain2.com
*.domain3.com

the registry key HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\New Windows\Allow has values
*.domain1.com
*.domain2.com
*.domain3.com
domain1.com
domain2.com
domain3.com


The Trusted Site keys HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\ZoneMap\Domains is as expected.
John Gray

Think how stupid the average person is, then realise that half of the population are stupider than that.

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 72233
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by HansV »

Weird - on my PC, HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\New Windows\Allow corresponds exactly with what I see in Tools > Internet Options > Privacy > Settings (under Popup Blocker).
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 5003
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by John Gray »

Your path seems to give me the same window as my usual path:
Tools -> Pop-up Blocker -> Pop-up Blocker settings -> Allowed sites

If I delete the three entries without the preceding '*.', then both windows and the registry entries stay as you suggest. No, I don't know why! But I'm happy it now works 'as designed'...
John Gray

Think how stupid the average person is, then realise that half of the population are stupider than that.