Simple algorithm to reduce Regular Expressions?

ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger

Simple algorithm to reduce Regular Expressions?

Post by ChrisGreaves »

The attached VBA macro demonstrates regular expressions for North American telephone numbers (ten-digit strings). I am not good at regEx, but am improving. The attached macro (the final expression) serves my purpose for now, so I am not looking for a universal telephone-number expression.

I built the thing stage by stage - a good learning exercise - and will probably do the same for postal codes, email addresses, web sites and so on. I have read the complex syntax descriptions for web sites and emails and have no plans to go That Far Out.

That said, I find myself thinking that there are many ways that at the Expert Level I could have written this telephone routine using features of regEx,
In the meantime, if a new way of writing phone/web/email pops up, I can develop an eighth special-purpose expression and just OR/pipe it into my current seven; what do I care?

Then it struck me - there must be some straightforward techniques that humans use to recognize simple patterns, procedures one can apply, to reduce complexity and condense two expressions into a single expression. There is no need to have an expression for "spaces between the numbers" and a separate expression for "hyphens between the numbers". That reduces to one expression of "hyphens OR spaces between the numbers
\d{3} \d{3} \d{4}
and
\d{3}-\d{3}-\d{4}
can be combined into
\d{3}[-| ]\d{3}[-| ]\d{4}

Again, what I have works, but I am thinking about, or looking for, some very basic techniques for recognizing easy simplifications.
Thanks
Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
An expensive day out: Wallet and Grimace

SpeakEasy
4StarLounger

Re: Simple algorithm to reduce Regular Expressions?

Post by SpeakEasy »