Date manipulation Access 2003

PaulW
2StarLounger

Date manipulation Access 2003

Post by PaulW »

I have an application with a "date in", "Time In", "Date out" and "Time out". I need to be able to calculate the elapsed time for each set. The data entries are a combination of Date from Now(), Time from Now(), mm/dd/yyyy and HH:MM A/P. I know that Now() is a real number (5.5), not sure of the format but I can find this out. How is the best way for me to convert all record fields to the same format and do the required calculations. (I am an old time Cobol programmer.)
TIA
PaulW

HansV
Administrator

Re: Date manipulation Access 2003

Post by HansV »

Welcome to Eileen's Lounge!

You don't really need separate Date in and Time in fields - a date/time field in Access can hold a complete date plus time value, e.g. 17-Feb-2010 11:40.
The same goes for Date out and Time out.

But if you have separate fields, the time elapsed would be [Date out]+[Time out]-[Date in]-[Time in]. You can format this as a time.
If you want to know the (decimal) hours elapsed, you could multiply by 24 and format the result as a number instead of as a time:

24*([Date out]+[Time out]-[Date in]-[Time in])

Dates are stored as the number of days since December 30, 1899.
Times are stored as a fraction of a day, i.e. 6:00 AM = 0.25, and 12:00 PM = 0.50.
Best wishes,
Hans

PaulW
2StarLounger

Post by PaulW »

Hi Hans,

Thanks for the speedy answer. It was so speedy that it got to me before I was ready for it. :smile: I tried it and it works very well.

I am happy that you are on this board now. I'll try not to be a pest.
PaulW
Lost Wages, NV USA
(former Cobol Programmer)

Jezza
5StarLounger

Post by Jezza »

Paul

The beauty of this board is you are never a pest, ask away
Jerry
I’ll be more enthusiastic about encouraging thinking outside the box when there’s evidence of any thinking going on inside it

PaulW
2StarLounger

Post by PaulW »