Adobe Acrobat Error

p3s
NewLounger
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Nov 2023, 05:58

Adobe Acrobat Error

Post by p3s »

Hello All,
Can anyone please help me in solving the error generated in MS Access application when user tries to send email with pdf attachment. The error states - " There is a problem with Adobe Acrobat/Reader. If it is running, please exit and try again. (0:521)."
Error is popped up even though no pdf is open in the system.
Thank you!

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78039
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Adobe Acrobat Error

Post by HansV »

Welcome to Eileen's Lounge!
Do you create the PDF file from the Access application? If so, how?
Best wishes,
Hans

p3s
NewLounger
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Nov 2023, 05:58

Re: Adobe Acrobat Error

Post by p3s »

Thank you for replying back.
Pdf is generated using a word template and saved to local drive. The same path is used for attaching pdf file to the mail.

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78039
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Adobe Acrobat Error

Post by HansV »

Do you use the native Export As Fixed Format feature built into Word, or do you use Adobe Acrobat to create the PDF file?
Best wishes,
Hans

p3s
NewLounger
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Nov 2023, 05:58

Re: Adobe Acrobat Error

Post by p3s »

Hello Hans,
Yes, we are using Word built in function to save the document and not using Adobe to create the pdf file.
Thanks,
PS

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78039
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Adobe Acrobat Error

Post by HansV »

What a strange problem!
Could you ask the user to make sure that Adobe is not running in the background? (They can check using Task Manager)
Best wishes,
Hans

p3s
NewLounger
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Nov 2023, 05:58

Re: Adobe Acrobat Error

Post by p3s »

Hi Hans,
Indeed it is a strange problem. We will check this and update in the thread. Thank you so much for all your responses.
Thanks,
PS

p3s
NewLounger
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Nov 2023, 05:58

Re: Adobe Acrobat Error

Post by p3s »

Hello All,

We tried ending background processes for the user receiving this error. However, it occured again. User is using Adobe Pro and our system has only Adobe Reader installed.
Can someone please help if have an idea regarding Adobe Pro background running processes.
Thanks,
PS

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78039
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Adobe Acrobat Error

Post by HansV »

I'm afraid I cannot help you with this. I hope that someone else will have a suggestion for you.
Best wishes,
Hans

Gasman
StarLounger
Posts: 75
Joined: 22 Feb 2022, 09:04

Re: Adobe Acrobat Error

Post by Gasman »

Is the user able to install the Reader program as well?
It sounds like you might be trying to open the pdf file and it is early bound to your Reader ?

Are you able to upload enough to show the issue?
I only have an Adobe Digital Version installed on this laptop and no idea as to how it got there :laugh: , as I use Foxit for pdf files.
Using Access 2007.
Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.
Please, please use code tags when posting code snippets, click the </>icon.
Debug.Print is your lifesaver.