Report using Word template

AlanMiller
BronzeLounger

Report using Word template

Post by AlanMiller »

I'm pretty new to Access 2003, particularly generating reports. I have developed successful techniques to "scoop up" cell values from XL workbooks and transfer them to "automated" Word templates as document variables. This enables me to produce "automatic" reports with all the formatting, bells & whistles of a standard Word document. From the examples I have seen, the reports possible in Access are comparatively more limited.

I'm wondering if, to repeat this technique with an Access db, I would be best to follow the same programmatic methods I've used in transferring XL data to a Word doc template, or if my impression of Access reports incorrect, and I should go for that alternative. The types of documents I need to produce contain formatting (color included), table layouts, headers, footers, footnotes and sometimes graphics. I know it's a pretty general question, but any opinions from those with experience in Access reports would be appreciated.

Alan

Carol W.
3StarLounger

Re: Report using Word template

Post by Carol W. »

Alan,

I, personally, find Access reports to be very flexible, especially in the areas of sorting and grouping. Of course, I've been doing it for a few years so it's pretty easy for me to do reports.

Your requirements:

Report headers / footers - no problem
Formatting (color, font, size etc.) - no problem
Page headers / footers - no problem
Inserting images - no problem

Not sure what kind of table layouts you mean but you can lay out your row data in the report detail section and have it repeated for as many data records as are contained in your report record source. You can also design multi column reports. I've done this for labels, where there are three columns (for example) across the page.

Does this help? Maybe other posters will come along and add their input.
Carol W.

AlanMiller
BronzeLounger

Post by AlanMiller »