Convert to 64-bit from 32-bit

User avatar
Timelord
4StarLounger
Posts: 495
Joined: 23 Jul 2010, 18:36
Location: Westlake, OHIO

Convert to 64-bit from 32-bit

Post by Timelord »

We have software that is running on a 32-bit SQL database server right now. We are going to be upgrading the software and the provider wants to charge a LOT of money to migrate it to 64-bit. I can't help but think it should not be that hard. I know very little about SQL itself, I can write some scripts and setup security and such but I am not a DBA by any means. But here is how I think, we should be able to export the database and then import it into the 64-bit server and it should update automatically.

I assume I am wrong but I am wondering if it is really that difficult. Has anyone migrated a 32bit to 64bit SQL database? What were the issues you ran into? Are there any special surprises I should watch out for?
Thanks
Who will you Inspire today?

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 75751
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Convert to 64-bit from 32-bit

Post by HansV »

Are you going to perform the removal of 32-bit SQL Server and installation of 64-bit SQL Server?
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
Timelord
4StarLounger
Posts: 495
Joined: 23 Jul 2010, 18:36
Location: Westlake, OHIO

Re: Convert to 64-bit from 32-bit

Post by Timelord »

We are going to move to a 64-bit SQL Server on new hardware.
Who will you Inspire today?

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 75751
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Convert to 64-bit from 32-bit

Post by HansV »

You'll probably get better answers at SQL Server Migration on Microsoft Q&A.
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
Timelord
4StarLounger
Posts: 495
Joined: 23 Jul 2010, 18:36
Location: Westlake, OHIO

Re: Convert to 64-bit from 32-bit

Post by Timelord »

Thanks HansV
Who will you Inspire today?