Macros blocked while testing Add-In + C# Documents.Open() question

Comfrog
NewLounger

Macros blocked while testing Add-In + C# Documents.Open() question

Post by Comfrog »

Word 365 / C# VSTO Word Add-in;

Hello there,

I'm new here, so I'm not sure if this is the correct place to create this post, but I am having some troubles with a C# VSTO Word add-in I am creating. Apologies if I get some terminology mixed up, as I am fairly new to development within the Microsoft Office Suite and new to the advanced parts of Word as a whole apart from using it for writing essays years ago.

I am attempting to figure out a way that I can open a document so I can do some repeated functions on autotextentries, which might be relevant to the question, or it might not I suppose.

I can do everything correctly in the VBA editor within Word for what I'd like to achieve, but when I rewrite the code within a VSTO Add-In (I'd like it to be an add-in opposed to just having the code in a template stored in normal), I get a plethora of problems. The first problem is that when editing the template of a document, which I retrieve using Application.Documents.Open("filepath here") within the VBA editor in Word correctly opens files in their full read/write mode. But, when I use the exact same function within Microsoft.Office.Interop.Word, it only opens the document with the convert document popup window, and no matter what selection I use (the "create a copy and merge later" option is realistically the only usable option), the add-in hangs and the function does not proceed. Read-only is not going to work, as I need to be able to edit the building blocks of the file that I am trying to open.
Now today, when I try to run the add-in on testing, I no longer get past a macros blocked window that the macro is unsafe. However, the macro is a .tmp file within C:\Users\Comfrog\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\INetCache\Content.Word.