Enabling your own macros

New Daddy
4StarLounger
Posts: 413
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 20:02

Enabling your own macros

Post by New Daddy »

As it happens every once in a while, I had to reinstall Windows 10 and Office 2016.
Since I keep copies of normal.dotm and WordOffice.UI in the cloud, the whole re-installation was a breeze.
Except that Word is not enabling my macros.

I discovered this page (https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/off ... 505ecd1c01), which has lead me to believe that I need to add my self-signing certificate to Trusted Root Certification folder in the Certificates. So I looked up and https://www.thewindowsclub.com/manage-t ... es-windows seems to be how to do it.

But is this the easiest way to be able to use my own macros in a new OS? I don't remember it being this difficult. Is there another route?

User avatar
Charles Kenyon
3StarLounger
Posts: 320
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 15:56
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

Re: Enabling your own macros

Post by Charles Kenyon »

:smile: Place the templates containing your macros in folders set as "Trusted Locations."

This is a Trust Center setting. I have a number of such locations including my User Templates folder and its sub folders, my Startup Folder and its subfolders, and others.
Attorney Charles Kenyon

Templates in Microsoft Word http://www.addbalance.com/usersguide/templates.htm
Modifying the QAT http://addbalance.com/word/QATmodification.htm

New Daddy
4StarLounger
Posts: 413
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 20:02

Re: Enabling your own macros

Post by New Daddy »

Charles Kenyon wrote:
24 Sep 2020, 03:19
:smile: Place the templates containing your macros in folders set as "Trusted Locations."

This is a Trust Center setting. I have a number of such locations including my User Templates folder and its sub folders, my Startup Folder and its subfolders, and others.
Beautiful!