WS2008R2 - motherboard NIC not recognised

User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 4744
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

WS2008R2 - motherboard NIC not recognised

Post by John Gray »

I've just installed WS2008R2 onto a newer-but-old HP PC (Elite 8300) and it hasn't picked up the motherboard's NIC (plus a few other devices). Fortunately I had installed an Intel PCIe NIC, which works immediately.

It occurs to me to wonder, when/if I get the appropriate driver for the motherboard NIC, whether this will be picked up as an additional NIC giving two in total, or, like I believe happens with an add-in graphics card, this disables the onboard graphics.

Has anyone experience of this sort of situation?
John Gray

Snaccident - “the unintentional eating of an entire packet of biscuits".

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 10967
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: WS2008R2 - motherboard NIC not recognised

Post by StuartR »

You can have multiple network interfaces on one PC. You can use a PC as a router if you want, or as a multi-homed server. Or some people use one NIC for remote management and the other for everything else (in a different VLAN usually).
StuartR


User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 4744
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

Re: WS2008R2 - motherboard NIC not recognised

Post by John Gray »

My aim was to connect our NAS onto one NIC, and use the other to connect to the main LAN.
But this depends on me getting WS2008R2 drivers for the yellow-exclamation-mark devices.
I wonder whether using the equivalent Windows 7 drivers would work?
John Gray

Snaccident - “the unintentional eating of an entire packet of biscuits".

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 10967
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: WS2008R2 - motherboard NIC not recognised

Post by StuartR »

You may have to learn how to use the Windows Route command to get things to work the way you want, or you may be lucky and have it all work with no intervention.
StuartR


User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 4744
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

Re: WS2008R2 - motherboard NIC not recognised

Post by John Gray »

Wouldn't this result be achieved by using a manually-assigned IP address on a separate subnet for the NAS, and configuring the relevant Adapter in Network and Sharing Centre?
John Gray

Snaccident - “the unintentional eating of an entire packet of biscuits".

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 10967
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: WS2008R2 - motherboard NIC not recognised

Post by StuartR »

It's a long time since I did this John. I think you should be OK doing this the way you describe, assuming that the manually assigned IP address is in a local subnet that is not in use elsewhere on your network.
StuartR


User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 4744
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

Re: WS2008R2 - motherboard NIC not recognised

Post by John Gray »

I've found that the Intel 'all operating systems' package of NIC drivers works on WS2008R2, and I now have two NICs available for use. I haven't yet done the further test of connecting something to one of them, creating a new subnet , and so on.
John Gray

Snaccident - “the unintentional eating of an entire packet of biscuits".

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 10967
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: WS2008R2 - motherboard NIC not recognised

Post by StuartR »

Good luck, let us know how it goes
StuartR