Syntax Questions

BobH
UraniumLounger

Syntax Questions

Post by BobH »

Syntax.gif
Can anyone point me to a wiki on how to interpret the syntax in the above folder names? More specifically, what significance does bracketing the name with percent symbols have?

Somewhere in the dim dark recesses of my mind I recall - probably incorrectly - that the use of the bracketing percent symbols indicated a place holder and that the actual value would be one of the user's choosing.

As you can see, I'm still struggling to set up an FTP server. I have some limited experience with UNIX and its derivatives; so the concept of root directories is not altogether foreign, but I do not know how this translates to Windows. Surely, somewhere in the Windows kernel there is a root but it generally is not accessible (is it?) via Windows Explorer; therefore, checking to see if the directories and folders exist at the root level is beyond my ken (but not Stuck's).

:cheers: :chocciebar: :thankyou:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bob's yer Uncle
(1/2)(1+√5)
Dell Intel Core i5 Laptop, 3570K,1.60 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Windows 11 64-bit, LibreOffice,and other bits and bobs

BobH
UraniumLounger

Re: Syntax Questions Found Some of the Answers Here

Post by BobH »

Environmental Variables Syntax

I'm still in pursuit of the %ftproot% variable equivalent in a Windows pathname.
Bob's yer Uncle
(1/2)(1+√5)
Dell Intel Core i5 Laptop, 3570K,1.60 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Windows 11 64-bit, LibreOffice,and other bits and bobs

Rudi
gamma jay

Re: Syntax Questions

Post by Rudi »

You've probably come across this page already...
I too cannot find anything reg. that %ftproot% variable?
Regards,
Rudi

If your absence does not affect them, your presence didn't matter.

BobH
UraniumLounger

Post by BobH »

Rudi wrote:You've probably come across this page already...
I too cannot find anything reg. that %ftproot% variable?