Robocopy switch /A-:SH

ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger

Robocopy switch /A-:SH

Post by ChrisGreaves »

In recent months I have been plagued by RoboCopy hiding my files; a workaround for me was ATTRIB –S –HJ –R /S /D
I found a solution on the web.
The switch

Code: Select all

/A-:SH
solves the problem; said by some to be a bug.

robocopy t:\      y:\%computername% /s /r:0 /w:0 /XJ /MIR /A-:SH
Cheers
Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I’ve been tidying the junk out of my shed for five years, and now can hardly get into the shed

ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger

Re: Robocopy switch /A-:SH

Post by ChrisGreaves »

I find it hard to believe that I have lived with this for four years. I recently was persuaded to look closer at this problem of the attribute bits.
This page says “ … I found out that Robocopy has a bug where it alters the attributes of the directory to a system and hidden file. It's been known for quite some time …”
This page says “ … RoboCopy may set the new directory to hidden, as it copies the system attribute of the root folder of the drive over to the new folder. …”.
Two types of solution are offered:-
(1) Use the “/A-:SH” parameter on the command line
(2) Do an ATTRIBute pass after the backup is made “start /B /WAIT attrib -s -h -r /s /d”
That I did not report back after March 2020 might suggests that the first suggestion worked.
Since then I have moved through Win10, Win11, and back to Win7, and the problem persists.

Two days ago I reasoned that:-
(a) the batch file I use for making nightly backups had not changed
(b) the problem persisted through three different versions of Windows and
(c) I had made no changes to dear old ReboCopy.EXE

Perhaps I had multiple copies of RoboCopy and one of them had the bug, and that was the version I had switched to.
1.png
Well, I have three versions of RoboCopy on my data drive; I may have even more on my weekly accumulative backup drive.