Cooking An Omelette

Bigaldoc
PlatinumLounger

Cooking An Omelette

Post by Bigaldoc »

I'm a newbie in this forum - in all these years, I've never posted anything here. But I could use some advice. Most of you know that I'm alone at home, so my eating routines are definitely not the best.

The other day, I had a severe hankering for an omlette and I thought (Huh!) that can't be hard to do - I've watched Billie do it lots of times. And, I know how to cook eggs, including scrambled - the preparation being the same. So, I embarked on this NEW effort and boy, did I strike out big time!

I was making an omlette with four eggs, broiled and finely chopped sausage and some shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I had all the ingredients ready, a moderately warmed skillet coated with Pam and started cooking the eggs. After they had cooked for a short time, I was carefully using my spatula to keep the edges all around free and nice and even. I added the sausage and cheese and started what I hoped would be the FOLDING process to get the eggs OVER the contents. No way!.

What I ended up with, although edible, was a mess of SCRAMBLED eggs with sausage and cheese mixed in - certainly NOT what anyone would consider an OMLETTE! Just now I Googled up this recipe (How to Cook an Omelette) wherein it seems that Step #8 was my downfall!

Anyone with any tips or training for a dumb guy so I might do a little better the next time!

(Billie would be embarrassed by my lack of skill, so I haven't told her!)

HansV
Administrator

Re: Cooking An Omelette

Post by HansV »

Unless you're using a non-stick skillet, you need to work your spatula very gently under the omelette on all sides to keep it from sticking. You obviously have to wait a bit before doing this - it won't work while the egg mixture is still completely fluid.

Added: it might also help to temper the heat after the eggs have started setting.
Best wishes,
Hans

Samantha
3StarLounger

Post by Samantha »