Cajun Chile recipe

BigMac
NewLounger

Cajun Chile recipe

Post by BigMac »

My first post here. I got the link from Al (Bigaldoc) Hoffman's profile page at WS Lounge. I'm also a member at Scot Finnie's forum. I'm a computer hardware hobbyist - built my first in 1997 - , no work backround in PC's other than using them at work.

Being the only "deep-south U.S. - 40 miles North of New Orleans, LA - person" that I've seen on the forum, I'll give ya'll a cajun recipe that will warm you up with this cold winter we've had this year (in the Northern hemisphere anyway):

½ lb beef fat (from the rib is best) chopped into ½“ cubes -- a ½ lb of bacon will also work well
3lb to 4lb boneless shoulder roast (best) or boneless chuck roast trimmed of excess fat and gristle and run (ground) only once through a chile plate by the butcher at the meat market.
**If they don’t have a chile plate, bring the roast home and cube the meat into 2 by 2 inch pieces, put into a food processor and pulse 10 times - 2 to 3 seconds each pulse. There should be a mix of pencil eraser size and smaller pieces of meat after chopping in the processor – a few bigger pieces won’t hurt.
2 large onions, chopped
1 medium bell pepper chopped finely
6 cloves garlic, minced
6 oz can tomato paste
4 tablespoons chile powder (Ancho chile powder is best if you can find it)
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon oregano
4 cups beef stock (fresh or canned)
Optional - 1 or more Jalapeño peppers chopped finely (if you like your chile hot)
Optional - 1 ½ cups fresh cooked red beans (if you want beans in the chile)
Tony Chachere’s seasoning or salt and pepper to taste (add a little -1/8th tsp or so (more if you like it hot) - cayenne pepper if you can't find Tony Chachere's)

Directions