Recommendations wanted re: wireless/wired router

Networking, connecting to the internet, wi-fi and home entertainment
Pilgrim
2StarLounger

Recommendations wanted re: wireless/wired router

Post by Pilgrim »

I have a friend that asked me to recommend a wireless/wired router that will be used within the home to connect 1 Desktop (wired) and 1 laptop (wireless)... AND... to be shared with an elderly lady who lives next door. The adjacent house is within 20 feet I am told.

Networking is my weak spot so I thought I would seek advice from those of you who have a penchant for this. Personally I have been using my old standby, a Linksys WRT54G for many years without any problems. But I am guessing the technology has greatly advanced since I purchased this old thing which would give both better performance but especially range.

What say you?
Jeff

Artificial Intelligence is no match for natural stupidity!

John Gray
PlatinumLounger

Re: Recommendations wanted re: wireless/wired router

Post by John Gray »

ADSL or cable? I would go for a Wireless-N router, which should give better range, but you will be going through two outer walls, at least...

There's no possibility of laying an ethernet cable between the houses and through the walls, is there?
John Gray

"(or one of the team)" - how your appointment letter indicates you won't be seeing the Consultant...

Pilgrim
2StarLounger

Post by Pilgrim »

John Gray wrote:ADSL or cable? I would go for a Wireless-N router, which should give better range, but you will be going through two outer walls, at least...

There's no possibility of laying an ethernet cable between the houses and through the walls, is there?
1. I'm fairly certain that they don't have ADSL, but I can check.

2. Dunno... it might be possible, but only if drilling holes in the walls wasn't required. Image I can check on that also.
Jeff

Pilgrim
2StarLounger

Post by Pilgrim »

John Gray wrote:ADSL or cable? ...