NW Newbie's Proposed Network

Networking, connecting to the internet, wi-fi and home entertainment
Sundog
5StarLounger

NW Newbie's Proposed Network

Post by Sundog »

Attached is a draft of my proposed new home/office network (after I upgrade from Vista 32 Ultimate to Win 7 Ultimate, that is).

Any big holes/suggestions/etc.? I am new at setting up a network.

(I feel blessed and relieved to have found Eileen's Lounge and some of the old friends who have helped me so well in the past!)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Sundog

JoeP
SilverLounger

Re: NW Newbie's Proposed Network

Post by JoeP »

Nice network. I'd consider something like Windows Home Server – media server, backup and data recovery solution or a NAS device rather than a string of external drives.

Joe
Joe

DaveA
GoldLounger

Post by DaveA »

You might update your Word file, showing what is to be shared and how?
I am so far behind, I think I am First :evilgrin:
Genealogy....confusing the dead and annoying the living

John Gray
PlatinumLounger

Post by John Gray »

Although nothing to do with your network, could I respectfully suggest that you save your Word documents in DOC format (not DOCX), to make them more accessible? Otherwise, only those recipients who have Office 2007 or have installed the File Format Converters program would be able to read them!
John Gray

"(or one of the team)" - how your appointment letter indicates you won't be seeing the Consultant...

Sundog
5StarLounger

Post by Sundog »

Joe, all the external drives are an initial state until I transfer years/decades? of old files (from HDs extracted out of many old CPUs) onto a new big external drive. I will look into the Windows Home Server; thanks for the suggestion.

DaveA, not sure what you mean by your response, please elaborate?

John, yes, doc vs. docx, should have thought of that myself, will do in future.
Sundog

dasadler
5StarLounger

Post by dasadler »