Settings for Ethernet Connection between Laptop and Router

Networking, connecting to the internet, wi-fi and home entertainment
User avatar
BobH
UraniumLounger
Posts: 7970
Joined: 13 Feb 2010, 01:27
Location: Temple - Deep in the Heart of Texas

Settings for Ethernet Connection between Laptop and Router

Post by BobH »

Normally, all our devices except the SmartTV connect to the Internet via wifi. We have no problems with that connection path.

I want to check the speed of my new ISP. Mr. V (our Hans), told me that I needed to have an ethernet connection to get a true reading as wifi would affect the result. I finally found an ethernet cable. Now I can't figure out what settings to change on my laptop to cancel wifi and use the cable.

Can someone please give me explicit instructions - or a link to same - that will walk me through it?

Getting old is harder than it looks! :hairout: :hairout: :scratch: :scratch:

:cheers: :chocciebar: :thankyou:
Regards, BobH
Story of my life: I knew better but did it anyway!
Intel Core i5, 3570K, 3.40 GHz, 16 GB RAM, ECS Z77 H2-A3 Mobo, Windows 7 >HPE 64-bit, MS Office 2016

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 69402
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Settings for Ethernet Connection between Laptop and Rout

Post by HansV »

The only thing you need to do is to connect the ethernet cable to the ethernet port on the router and the ethernet port on the laptop.
ethernet.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
BobH
UraniumLounger
Posts: 7970
Joined: 13 Feb 2010, 01:27
Location: Temple - Deep in the Heart of Texas

Re: Settings for Ethernet Connection between Laptop and Rout

Post by BobH »

DOH!!!

Thanks, Hans!!! It worked a charm. I thought that there were settings in Network Connections that I had to change. No wonder I couldn't find anything online.

Color me senile!
Regards, BobH
Story of my life: I knew better but did it anyway!
Intel Core i5, 3570K, 3.40 GHz, 16 GB RAM, ECS Z77 H2-A3 Mobo, Windows 7 >HPE 64-bit, MS Office 2016

User avatar
stuck
UraniumLounger
Posts: 6261
Joined: 25 Jan 2010, 09:09
Location: up North (but it's not that grim)

Re: Settings for Ethernet Connection between Laptop and Rout

Post by stuck »

There's often a key combination that will turn off the wifi on a laptop, e.g. on my Acer netbook I need to hold down a (blue) Fn key and then press F3. Some older Dell's had a physical switch on the laptop casing that turned the wifi on/off.

When I use a cable to connect my netbook to my router I always use the key combination to turn off the wifi but, as as Hans says, doing that is not really necessary.

Ken

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 11046
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: Settings for Ethernet Connection between Laptop and Rout

Post by StuartR »

On my DELL laptop it's Function + PrintScreen
StuartR


User avatar
BobH
UraniumLounger
Posts: 7970
Joined: 13 Feb 2010, 01:27
Location: Temple - Deep in the Heart of Texas

Re: Settings for Ethernet Connection between Laptop and Rout

Post by BobH »

Thanks for the input. I got my speed test done. I'm getting 600Mbps down, now. Best I've had in decades.

:cheers: :chocciebar: :thankyou:
Regards, BobH
Story of my life: I knew better but did it anyway!
Intel Core i5, 3570K, 3.40 GHz, 16 GB RAM, ECS Z77 H2-A3 Mobo, Windows 7 >HPE 64-bit, MS Office 2016

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 69402
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Settings for Ethernet Connection between Laptop and Rout

Post by HansV »

That's quite fast!
Regards,
Hans