Has anyone set up a BlackBerry to sync with Exchange Server?

John Gray
PlatinumLounger

Has anyone set up a BlackBerry to sync with Exchange Server?

Post by John Gray »

I've recently done this for a Nokia E5-00, and it was a bit gruesome.

No doubt a BlackBerry will be even more complicated, so I'd be grateful for any tips, prior to me actually seeing the device itself!
John Gray

"(or one of the team)" - how your hospital appointment letter indicates that you won't be seeing the Consultant...

Bigaldoc
PlatinumLounger

Re: Has anyone set up a BlackBerry to sync with Exchange Ser

Post by Bigaldoc »

Good luck, John. I've had my Blackberry for less than a year and I recall there were only TWO options for synch: Outlook or Yahoo on the web (calendar, contacts, and memos).

Besides which I have no experience with servers. Sorry...

John Gray
PlatinumLounger

Post by John Gray »

Thanks, Al - I think I'll need it.
So far I discover I need to download and install 533 MB of "BlackBerry Enterprise Software Express for Microsoft Exchange" software. And the server requirements read like installing Exchange Server itself (or a bit less).
John Gray

"(or one of the team)" - how your hospital appointment letter indicates that you won't be seeing the Consultant...

Goshute
3StarLounger

Post by Goshute »

John, I can't directly help you as I don't work on the server side, but my corporate BB has in the past synched with Exchange, at present syncs with Domino (Lotus Notes Server), and is to be converted back to Exchange some time this summer; I would guess about 5,000 of our 28,000 employees have a Blackberry. So there have to be MS/RIM tools available to do this for Exchange environments.
Goshute
I float in liquid gardens

Timelord
4StarLounger

Post by Timelord »