Paypal Prank or Personal Paranoia

Graeme
Cosmic Lounger

Paypal Prank or Personal Paranoia

Post by Graeme »

I’ve been trying to sell my car. I put an advert in Ad Trader and waited for the responses. One response was an email from Nina Mattfred:

Thanks for the prompt response.. I have read through the information on the website and am ready to purchase it now as a New Year gift for my father. I am at sea at the moment as i am a marine engineer and due to the nature of my work, phone calls making and visiting of website are restricted but i squeezed out time to check this advert and send you an email regarding it. I really want this to be a surprise for my father so i wont let him know about this transaction until it delivered to him, i am sure he will be more than happy to see this. I insisted on paypal because i don't have access to my bank account online as i don't have internet banking, but i can pay from my paypal account, as i have my bank a/c attached to it, i will need you to give me your PayPal email address reconfirm the price so i can make the payments asap for the car and pls if you don't have PayPal account yet, it is very easy to set up, go to http://www.paypal.co.uk" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; and get it set up, after you have set it up i will only need the e-mail address you use for registration with PayPal so as to put the money through. I have a pick up agent that will come and pick the car up after i have made the payments...
>
> Regards
> Nina

I can tend towards the paranoid at times so my reply was a little guarded:

Hello Nina

That's great news.
Sounds like you have an interesting job!
I don't have a Paypal account but you can bring cash when you come to collect the car if you like.
Please phone me and I'll let you know my address.
Regards
Graeme

The reply received tonight was: