DenGar
3StarLounger

Computing nostalgia

Post by DenGar »

HansV
Administrator

Re: Computing nostalgia

Post by HansV »

That's a lot easier than when I was a student!
Best wishes,
Hans

PaulB
BronzeLounger

Post by PaulB »

Totally unrealistic! While the card stock color is almost right, I remember 5081s having rounded corners and always having the admonition: DO NOT FOLD, SPINDLE OR MUTILATE. :innocent:
Regards,
Paul

The pessimist complains about the wind. The optimist expects it to change. The realist adjusts his sails.

BobH
UraniumLounger

Post by BobH »

PaulB wrote:Totally unrealistic! While the card stock color is almost right, I remember 5081s having rounded corners and always having the admonition: DO NOT FOLD, SPINDLE OR MUTILATE. :innocent:
That is my recollection, too, Paul!

Who can name the three zones on a punch card and explain what they were used for?
Bob's yer Uncle
(1/2)(1+√5)
Dell Intel Core i5 Laptop, 3570K,1.60 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Windows 11 64-bit, LibreOffice,and other bits and bobs

DaveA
GoldLounger

Post by DaveA »

Do a Google on Punch Card and then select images and you will find all kinds of them.
I recalled using many of them shown and a lot that were customized for the company and government uses.
I am so far behind, I think I am First :evilgrin:
Genealogy....confusing the dead and annoying the living

ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger

Post by ChrisGreaves »

PaulB wrote:...the admonition: DO NOT FOLD, SPINDLE OR MUTILATE. :innocent:
Another myth.
Exploded: That admonition was not aimed at the users but at the programmers.
There were a whole lot of other things we were not allowed to do to the punch operators when they mis-interpreted our coding forms.
Punching, too, was out of the question, IIRCC.
There's nothing heavier than an empty water bottle

ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger

Post by ChrisGreaves »

DenGar wrote:Punch card emulator
Sigh!
Coincidence: This morning I sent off a message to an ICL newsletter: