USB 3.0 on laptop

Rudi
gamma jay

USB 3.0 on laptop

Post by Rudi »

Hi,

I am soon to purchase a new external hard drive ( and no doubt it will probably be USB 3.0). My laptop only has USB 2 ports, so I was wondering what the performance would be like if I were to also purchase an express card with USB 3 ports. Has anyone done this before and is the performance/speed good.

Is there any hurdles/objections/advantages I should know about before I go out and purchase these items?

TX for your comments!
Regards,
Rudi

If your absence does not affect them, your presence didn't matter.

BobH
UraniumLounger

Re: USB 3.0 on laptop

Post by BobH »

Howdy, Rudi!

I'm no engineer; so consider that when reading this.

I think there are mobo design issues that control the speed of any USB port. If the mobo doesn't do USB3 speed, I think it unlikely that the express card will make a difference.

JM2¢W
Bob's yer Uncle
(1/2)(1+√5)
Dell Intel Core i5 Laptop, 3570K,1.60 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Windows 11 64-bit, LibreOffice,and other bits and bobs

Rudi
gamma jay

Post by Rudi »

BobH wrote:Howdy, Rudi!

I think there are mobo design issues that control the speed of any USB port. If the mobo doesn't do USB3 speed, I think it unlikely that the express card will make a difference.

JM2¢W
TX Bob. I'll take that into account and refernce the specs on my laptop more thoroughly!
Just to confirm, when you say Mobo Design, are you referring to the Motherboard?
Regards,
Rudi

DaveA
GoldLounger

Post by DaveA »

I just bought a new Sony with Windows 8. It has 2 USB 2 and 2 USB 3 ports.
Also something to consider, is that the new machines come with a HDMI port and NOT a SVGA port.
A HDMI to SVGA convertor does not work with my Canon LCD Projector, so we had to go buy a new one, with HDMI support.

We can not complain, as we bought the Canon in the 1990's.
I am so far behind, I think I am First :evilgrin:
Genealogy....confusing the dead and annoying the living

Rudi
gamma jay

Post by Rudi »