Here Comes "Needy" Again - This Time It's the Monitor

BobH
UraniumLounger

Here Comes "Needy" Again - This Time It's the Monitor

Post by BobH »

Well, I've done it again. (Warning: This will read like The Art of Zen and Motorcycle Mechanics)

This time the monitor on MY desktop has quit working (after I spent hours working inside the case. :hairout:

This all started when I tried to put an SD memory card in the card reader built into the 3.5" floppy drive. It wouldn't read. I've never used the card reader before. I popped the case and realized that the card reader requires an internal USB header but there is not one on this old Dell Dimension 4700 mobo. I remembered then that I had been through this when I installed the floppy drive. Looking inside, I realized that one of my internal hard drives was not connected; so I connected it. I got a bit frustrated because there are too many cables inside.

I got a good deal on a 650W PSU some time back and bought it thinking that I'll be buying a new mobo and chipset sometime soon (another tale best saved for later). The 650W PSU has lots of spare cables that this little Dell doesn't use. I had not been a very careful tech when I installed it. The cables had come to look like a rat's nest ; so . . . I disconnected ALL cables and cleaned and vacuumed the dust bunnies. When I reconnected all the devices and fans, I paid a good deal more attention and even used cable ties to neaten things up a bit inside. I looped and tied off cables that were unnecessarily long and looped and tied off the unused power cables (several molex for non-SATA devices, a spare SATA power cable and several IDE power connectors.