Office 2010 And The Cloud - Skydrive

hlewton
PlatinumLounger

Office 2010 And The Cloud - Skydrive

Post by hlewton »

I have had a lot of files stored on a free server which I believe would be considered to be in the "Clouds." Is is called Skydrive and I believe it is operated by Microsoft. Until recently I have been able to open the files I put up there to edit them if I wished using Office 2003 applications. Microsoft seems to have changed the rules and now insists I have Office 2010 which I do have on one machine. Well even with Office 2010 it seems I can only open Word files. Every time I try to open an Excel file is says the "Worksheet cannot be loaded." If I try to open an Access file it wants to download it first. I have no experience with a Power Point file. Does anyone have any experience in this area and if so any suggestions other than downloading the file to my local hard drive first before editing it?

Thanks
Regards,
hlewton

HansV
Administrator

Re: Office 2010 And The Cloud - Skydrive

Post by HansV »

From Windows Live SkyDrive team blog:
Tip: Editing your files on SkyDrive
Here’s the best way to make changes to a file that you’ve uploaded to your SkyDrive:

Download the file to a known location on your hard drive
Edit and save that file just like any normal file on your hard drive
When you're finished making changes, visit SkyDrive and navigate to the folder where you originally downloaded the file
Click Add files and upload the file
SkyDrive will automatically replace the older version of the file as long as the new version has the same name.
So they do want you to download and upload...
Best wishes,
Hans

hlewton
PlatinumLounger

Post by hlewton »