pdf java help please

maverick8888
StarLounger

pdf java help please

Post by maverick8888 »

Hello all. First of all' didn't know where to post this. Apologies in advance. I am new to the world of programming with a touch of access database creation, which am not even sure if that is even programming. Here's the issue. I jumped head first into a project without knowing what ingot myself into. I am looking to create the following ;

There is a schematic that is in a PDF file type
I have adobe standard 10
Looking to be able to click on a component and have a pop up of the data sheet of the part that is clicked on.
( I know a bookmark would work there but looking for something more in depth. )
When the part is clicked on, then a popup menu would give options.
( got this part)
Options would include data sheet or purchasing
When an option is selected, it would then pop up a smaller window showing information selected.
*** the pdf'd data sheet can be either inside the same PDF, if easier or a PDF in the same folder.

It has been difficult with Google as I am new to this and don't know how to ask so I came here as the answers have always come. Thanks in advance!!!!!!!!!

Rudi
gamma jay

Re: pdf java help please

Post by Rudi »

Gosh... I was not even aware that one could automate in Adobe. (Obviously this is exclusive to Adobe Pro and NOT the reader).
I'm not sure if you are aware of the fact and if the link above might help you or point you in the right direction. Personally I cannot assist much more as I have no experience with actions in Adobe.

Not sure if it would suit your needs but if you do not come right with the automation to plan in Adobe, you could consider using opening the PDF in Word and using Word macros to control the automation (IF that is possible!)
Regards,
Rudi

If your absence does not affect them, your presence didn't matter.

maverick8888
StarLounger

Post by maverick8888 »