LOST PASSWORD

Dave Davison
SilverLounger

LOST PASSWORD

Post by Dave Davison »

Hi Guys.
My brother has just has his Apple iPad cracked screen replaced and -don't know why - but the shop owner returned it to factory settings and seeing the password is forgotten, it can't used. Is there any software that can detect the said password or it's money down the drain. Not being an expert I can't understand how he could return it to FS without knowing the password. :scratch: :scratch:

stuck
Panoramic Lounger

Re: LOST PASSWORD

Post by stuck »

I don't own any Apple devices but does not folklore say that if you don't know your Apple password you're stuffed because there's no way to hack an Apple device?

Having said that, if this device has been returned to factory settings does that not mean it's like a 'new' device so your brother can just start from scratch and set a new password?

Or why not take it back to the repair shop and ask them for the password, which presumably they set?

Ken

ChrisGreaves
PlutoniumLounger

Post by ChrisGreaves »

stuck wrote:
23 Dec 2022, 18:27
Or why not take it back to the repair shop and ask them for the password, which presumably they set?
:clapping: :clapping:
An expensive day out: Wallet and Grimace

Dave Davison
SilverLounger

Post by Dave Davison »

As I said, how was the repair shop guy able to access the memory to reset it to the factory settings in the first place? Can't for the life of me understand why as it was only put in for a glass replacement. He could not have had the password because my bro can't remember it. Totally baffled.
Thanks anyway Dave.

HansV
Administrator

Post by HansV »

The repair shop probably used a USB cable to connect the iPad to a Mac or Windows computer. It is then possible to reset the iPad from the computer.
This completely erases the data and user profile.
If they made a backup before doing so, they may have restored it after this.