where is all the malware coming from

capri
StarLounger

where is all the malware coming from

Post by capri »

Hi,

I've been running Malwarebytes for a few years now and it very rarely picked up any malware. In the past 2 weeks it has picked up at least 50 pieces of malware. I'm trying to figure out where it is all coming from. For most of my use, I visit 2 or 3 genealogy based websites. I can be on the computer for a few hours then run the malwarebytes and it comes up clean. I can use it another 2 or 3 hours and it comes up infected with a few pieces of malware (same few sites). I had my favourite sites on the favourites bar of Explorer and one time I'm not sure how I clicked on it, but a window came up about wanting to download something onto my PC which I refused. I thought perhaps the problem was connected to the favourites bar so deleted it but that hasn't solved the problem.

My husband mainly uses Firefox, and the scans seem to come up clean after he's been using Firefox. I am going to switch over to see if that stops it, but was wondering if anyone has had similar problems and can suggest what is causing all the malware and how to avoid it. I've been running the Malwarebytes at least twice a day lately and can't predict which will come clean and which will be infected.

Thanks for any suggestions.
capri :hairout:

Claude
cheese lizard

Re: where is all the malware coming from

Post by Claude »

What other security software do you have installed and what operating system ?
Cheers, Claude.

capri
StarLounger

Post by capri »

Hi Claude,

It Windows XP and I have Avira virus protector. The virus protector has picked up a few viruses recently (normally none) but nowhere near as many as the malware.

capri

John Gray
PlatinumLounger

Post by John Gray »

When you say "viruses" do you mean viruses? Or tracking cookies, or something similar?
Could you quote a couple of examples of what Malwarebytes is objecting to?
John Gray