Finding a user's pst file locations (Outlook 2003)

GeoffW
PlatinumLounger

Finding a user's pst file locations (Outlook 2003)

Post by GeoffW »

Hi

I'm new to Outlook in general, let alone what's behind- however I'm quite familiar with VBA in Word and Excel.

Is it possible to find where a user's pst files and group mailboxes are stored when Outlook is broken? Is this something which can be found using a program? Are these settings stored in the registry, or elsewhere?

If a user's profile was removed and added again (something which is done frequently) is it possible to then retrieve older values? Or can this only be done before removing a profile?

Rudi
gamma jay

Re: Finding a user's pst file locations (Outlook 2003)

Post by Rudi »

In Outlook you can browse for the pst file by going: File Tab, Open & Export, Open Outlook data File.
This opens in the new location for Office 2010? and 2013 - C:\Users\<username>\Documents\Outlook Files
PST's can also be stored in this folder: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Outlook (I think this is the older versions folder location)
1.jpg
Irrespective of when the profile is created, one of these two locations would probably be used as the default storage location.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,
Rudi

If your absence does not affect them, your presence didn't matter.

Rudi
gamma jay

Post by Rudi »

BTW:

you can also go this route to find and access the paths for pst's...
1.jpg
2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,
Rudi

GeoffW
PlatinumLounger

Post by GeoffW »

Thanks Rudi

However, I would like, if possible, to find the locations when Outlook cannot be opened- when something has been damaged.

Users will create archive pst files in their own network drive locations.