New tab to be selected

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 962
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

New tab to be selected

Post by Peter Kinross »

In Chrome, when I middle click on a link, it opened in a new tab and that tab became the active tab. In Edge, middle click opens a new tab, but it does not become the active tab. When I first started using Edge, the new tabs became active, but not anymore. Danged if I know what I did but would sure like it to be fixed.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78783
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: New tab to be selected

Post by HansV »

Try holding down the Shift key while middle-clicking on a link.
Best wishes,
Hans

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 962
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: New tab to be selected

Post by Peter Kinross »

Yep that works - thanks Hans.
But would be simpler if there was a setting to be set as in Chrome. Ah well, guess that's progress. Who comes up with these decisions?
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 962
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: New tab to be selected

Post by Peter Kinross »

Fixed.
I already had TabActivate installed, but it wasn't working. Clicked on it in 'manage extensions' and it now works.
I find it hard to believe that this simple, absolutely needed facility is not available in 'Edge'.
Avagr8day, regards, Peter

User avatar
Jay Freedman
Microsoft MVP
Posts: 1320
Joined: 24 May 2013, 15:33
Location: Warminster, PA

Re: New tab to be selected

Post by Jay Freedman »

I've used the extension Tabs to the Front (available in the Chrome Web Store) in Edge and other Chromium-based browsers for years.

User avatar
Peter Kinross
5StarLounger
Posts: 962
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 00:33
Location: Patterson Lakes, Victoria, Australia

Re: New tab to be selected

Post by Peter Kinross »

Thanks, Jay, for that alternative. Apart from this occurrence, TabActivate has worked for me for many years.
Still beats me why MS don't have this as a standard option. Whoever clicks a link expecting it to not be displayed. Weird!
Avagr8day, regards, Peter