What Would Cause . . .

User avatar
BobH
UraniumLounger
Posts: 8564
Joined: 13 Feb 2010, 01:27
Location: Temple - Deep in the Heart of Texas

What Would Cause . . .

Post by BobH »

. . . a newly opened tab in my browser (Firefox) to be scrolled to the bottom of the web page?

One presumes - always dangerous - that the page is marked up with HTML and perhaps CSS and other tools. I've done a little bit - a very little bit - of this sort of mark up but do not recall commands that will open a page scrolled to its end.

If anyone has any insight on this, I would appreciate your sharing it or pointing me to place where I might learn.

:cheers: :chocciebar: :thankyou:
Bob's yer Uncle!
(1/2)(1+√5)
Intel Core i5, 3570K, 3.40 GHz, 16 GB RAM, ECS Z77 H2-A3 Mobo, Windows 10 >HPE 64-bit, MS Office 2016

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 74162
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: What Would Cause . . .

Post by HansV »

Does this happen on all websites, or some, or on a specific one?
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
BobH
UraniumLounger
Posts: 8564
Joined: 13 Feb 2010, 01:27
Location: Temple - Deep in the Heart of Texas

Re: What Would Cause . . .

Post by BobH »

It's happening on a specific website although I have noticed on others. I was wondering if there were something included to make it happen or if something were left out that might cause it. If I can identify as being in the HTML I'll notify the webmaster of the site.
Bob's yer Uncle!
(1/2)(1+√5)
Intel Core i5, 3570K, 3.40 GHz, 16 GB RAM, ECS Z77 H2-A3 Mobo, Windows 10 >HPE 64-bit, MS Office 2016

User avatar
stuck
UraniumLounger
Posts: 7020
Joined: 25 Jan 2010, 09:09
Location: up North (but it's not that grim)

Re: What Would Cause . . .

Post by stuck »

BobH wrote:
23 Jun 2021, 02:12
...It's happening on a specific website...
Can you share a link to that page, so we can try to replicate what you are experiencing?

Ken

User avatar
Leif
Administrator
Posts: 7277
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 08:21
Location: UK/France

Re: What Would Cause . . .

Post by Leif »

BobH wrote:
22 Jun 2021, 20:24
. . . a newly opened tab in my browser (Firefox) to be scrolled to the bottom of the web page?
Does the link include a bookmark, usually defined with the "#" character? This would open the page and cause it to scroll to a specific position.
Leif.

User avatar
BobH
UraniumLounger
Posts: 8564
Joined: 13 Feb 2010, 01:27
Location: Temple - Deep in the Heart of Texas

Re: What Would Cause . . .

Post by BobH »

Here is the link and a screenshot of what appears when I open it (in Firefox on Win 10) which you will find at the bottom of the page.
Sellers.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bob's yer Uncle!
(1/2)(1+√5)
Intel Core i5, 3570K, 3.40 GHz, 16 GB RAM, ECS Z77 H2-A3 Mobo, Windows 10 >HPE 64-bit, MS Office 2016

User avatar
stuck
UraniumLounger
Posts: 7020
Joined: 25 Jan 2010, 09:09
Location: up North (but it's not that grim)

Re: What Would Cause . . .

Post by stuck »

When I use the link I land at the top of the page.

Ken

User avatar
BobH
UraniumLounger
Posts: 8564
Joined: 13 Feb 2010, 01:27
Location: Temple - Deep in the Heart of Texas

Re: What Would Cause . . .

Post by BobH »

Are you using Firefox, Ken?
Bob's yer Uncle!
(1/2)(1+√5)
Intel Core i5, 3570K, 3.40 GHz, 16 GB RAM, ECS Z77 H2-A3 Mobo, Windows 10 >HPE 64-bit, MS Office 2016

User avatar
stuck
UraniumLounger
Posts: 7020
Joined: 25 Jan 2010, 09:09
Location: up North (but it's not that grim)

Re: What Would Cause . . .

Post by stuck »

Sorry, should have said, yes, Firefox. I was on v 89.01 when I first tried but FF has just updated to 89.02. No change in behaviour though, for me, te link lands at the top of the page.

Ken

User avatar
silverback
5StarLounger
Posts: 709
Joined: 29 Jan 2010, 13:30

Re: What Would Cause . . .

Post by silverback »

Straight to the top of the page for me. Using MS Edge browser.
Silverback

User avatar
stuck
UraniumLounger
Posts: 7020
Joined: 25 Jan 2010, 09:09
Location: up North (but it's not that grim)

Re: What Would Cause . . .

Post by stuck »

This link is to a similar problem dated 2011!
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/896977

It implies the problem is caused by an add-on or hardware acceleration. Worth looking at??

Ken

User avatar
BobH
UraniumLounger
Posts: 8564
Joined: 13 Feb 2010, 01:27
Location: Temple - Deep in the Heart of Texas

Re: What Would Cause . . .

Post by BobH »

Thanks, Ken. I'll look into disabling add-ons to see what effect it has. Given your experience and its action in Edge. I'm leaning towards it being a problem on my end; however, I'm perplexed as to why it doesn't affect other web pages.
Bob's yer Uncle!
(1/2)(1+√5)
Intel Core i5, 3570K, 3.40 GHz, 16 GB RAM, ECS Z77 H2-A3 Mobo, Windows 10 >HPE 64-bit, MS Office 2016