Maximize new window by default

jmt356
SilverLounger
Posts: 2193
Joined: 28 Mar 2010, 01:49

Maximize new window by default

Post by jmt356 »

When I right click on a link in Internet Explorer and select “Open in a new window,” a small window opens. How can I get the new window to default to the "Maximize" size?
Regards,

JMT

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 72885
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Maximize new window by default

Post by HansV »

You can't. The best you can do is to restore (unmaximize) the Internet Explorer window, then resize it so that it fills the entire screen except for the taskbar. Close, then reopen Internet Explorer.
Next time you select "Open in new window", it should be in a screen-filling (but not maximized) window.
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
Roderunner
5StarLounger
Posts: 989
Joined: 23 Jan 2011, 01:52
Location: Witness Protection Program.

Re: Maximize new window by default

Post by Roderunner »

Hi JMT, why not set IE to open a new tab, should work better.
Windows 10 Home 21H2

Regards,
George.

jmt356
SilverLounger
Posts: 2193
Joined: 28 Mar 2010, 01:49

Re: Maximize new window by default

Post by jmt356 »

Hans, I believe your tip only works if you close the resized window by clicking the X and making sure that it is the last IE window that is closed. Closing it and then all other IE windows by clicking ctrl + W did not cause IE to remember the setting the next time I tried Open Link in New Window.

I prefer Open Link in New Window because it allows me to quickly shuffle between all of my open windows with alt + tab, but if I Open Link in New Tab, not all of the open tabs show up and I’m more limited in shifting between them with ctrl + tab (and that combination is more awkward on my fingers).
Regards,

JMT

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 72885
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Maximize new window by default

Post by HansV »

Yes, Internet Explorer remembers the size and position of the LAST window that is closed.
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
DaveA
GoldLounger
Posts: 2571
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 15:26
Location: Olympia, WA

Re: Maximize new window by default

Post by DaveA »

This includes all of those IE popups and unders that appear. If one of them is the last window of IE that is closed, then their size is going to be the new default size. :hairout: :evilgrin:
I am so far behind, I think I am First :evilgrin:
Genealogy....confusing the dead and annoying the living

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 72885
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Maximize new window by default

Post by HansV »

Yes, a very annoying "feature"...
Regards,
Hans