How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 4764
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by John Gray »

This relates to most of the 'recent' Internet Explorer versions, but we now (at last) have IE11.

There are two locations where we need to insert website-like character strings:
* in Tools -> Pop-up Blocker -> Pop-up Blocker settings -> Allowed sites
* in Tools -> Internet options -> Security tab -> Trusted Sites -> Websites
(although not necessarily the same specifications in both!).

I am unsure whether the specification of
*.domain.com
covers all of
domain.com
subdomain.domain.com
http://domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
https://domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
https://www.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://subdomain.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
https://subdomain.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.subdomain.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
https://www.subdomain.domain.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

... and perhaps other variants.

Can someone deeply knowledgeable please elucidate?
John Gray

Snaccident - “the unintentional eating of an entire packet of biscuits".

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 69412
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by HansV »

In both cases: yes. We use a web application in my daytime job that works with databases whose URLs are of the form you mention: a domain with several subdomains. The web application requires that the URLs are trusted and that popups from the URLs are allowed. Adding *.domain.com is sufficient.
(For trusted sites, you have to clear the check box "Require server verification (https:) for all sites in this zone" before adding *.domain.com)
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 4764
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by John Gray »

Thank you!

In the Pop-up Blocker Allow we have
*.domain1.com
*.domain2.com
*.domain3.com
domain1.com
domain2.com
domain3.com


and in the Trusted Sites websites we have
*.domain1.com
subdomain1A.domain1.com
subdomain1B.domain1.com
subdomain1C.domain1.com
...
subdomain1N.domain1.com
subdomain2A.domain2.com
subdomain3A.domain3.com
w w w.domain4.com
w w w.domain5.com

(spaces to prevent the forum software sticking 'http://' at the front)

which latter shows a significant degree of specification confusion!
John Gray

Snaccident - “the unintentional eating of an entire packet of biscuits".

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 69412
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by HansV »

The following should be sufficient:

Pop-up Blocker:
*.domain1.com
*.domain2.com
*.domain3.com


Trusted Sites:
*.domain1.com
*.domain2.com
*.domain3.com
*.domain4.com
*.domain5.com
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 4764
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by John Gray »

Thanks again - I will do some testing...
John Gray

Snaccident - “the unintentional eating of an entire packet of biscuits".

User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 4764
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by John Gray »

Interesting.
Even though the popup blocker window shows
*.domain1.com
*.domain2.com
*.domain3.com

the registry key HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\New Windows\Allow has values
*.domain1.com
*.domain2.com
*.domain3.com
domain1.com
domain2.com
domain3.com


The Trusted Site keys HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\ZoneMap\Domains is as expected.
John Gray

Snaccident - “the unintentional eating of an entire packet of biscuits".

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 69412
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by HansV »

Weird - on my PC, HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\New Windows\Allow corresponds exactly with what I see in Tools > Internet Options > Privacy > Settings (under Popup Blocker).
Regards,
Hans

User avatar
John Gray
PlatinumLounger
Posts: 4764
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 08:33
Location: A cathedral city in England

Re: How to specify allowed sites for popup blocking

Post by John Gray »

Your path seems to give me the same window as my usual path:
Tools -> Pop-up Blocker -> Pop-up Blocker settings -> Allowed sites

If I delete the three entries without the preceding '*.', then both windows and the registry entries stay as you suggest. No, I don't know why! But I'm happy it now works 'as designed'...
John Gray

Snaccident - “the unintentional eating of an entire packet of biscuits".