PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78512
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by HansV »

You can do somehting like

Code: Select all

strSource = InputBox("Enter the source here", "My Application")
If strSource = "" Then
    ' User canceled
Else
    ' User entered something
End If
Best wishes,
Hans

moktarious
StarLounger
Posts: 61
Joined: 08 Oct 2011, 21:25

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by moktarious »

Let me build the whole script then I will show u sir. Thanks

moktarious
StarLounger
Posts: 61
Joined: 08 Oct 2011, 21:25

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by moktarious »

Quick question how can I type a text over 2/3 line in the input box.
strSource = InputBox("Red
Bleu
Yellow", "Color")

U follow me?

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78512
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by HansV »

Like this:

Code: Select all

strSource = InputBox("Red" & vbCrLf & "Blue" & vbCrLf & "Yellow", "Color")
vbCrLf is the VB code for the Carriage Return + Line Feed characters.
Best wishes,
Hans

User avatar
VegasNath
5StarLounger
Posts: 1185
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 12:02
Location: Wales, UK.

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by VegasNath »

HansV wrote:I don't think you can create dropdown lists in pure, stand-alone VBScript. You'd either have to create a web page, in which you can use form elements, or work from within an Office application such as Word or Excel, where you can create userforms. (VegasNath worked with PCOMM from Excel)
I agree with Hans!
My approach would be to use MS Excel in it's entirety without even looking at the mainframe. Have an excel userform to select the search criteria and load the search into mainframe, then scrape the search results back to excel. You can have a friendly GUI with all the bells and whistles you like, and never need to look at the ugly mainframe screens.
:wales: Nathan :uk:
There's no place like home.....

User avatar
VegasNath
5StarLounger
Posts: 1185
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 12:02
Location: Wales, UK.

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by VegasNath »

VegasNath wrote:All within PCOMM? I would not know where to start I'm afraid.

Annoyingly, I never found this board when I first started years ago, but came across it yesterday..... ibmmainframes.com. The IBM Tools forum may be a good place to start, possibly worth a try.
Moktarious, how are you getting along? Are you making progress?

Have you had thread(s) deleted at ibmmainframes.com? I can see that you have posted there via google but the site will not allow me to view the threads. :scratch:
:wales: Nathan :uk:
There's no place like home.....

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78512
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by HansV »

Moktarious did post at that site, but got rather arrogant and descending replies, so the thread was removed at his request.
Their forum appears to be for experts only, they don't have any patience with beginners.
Best wishes,
Hans

User avatar
VegasNath
5StarLounger
Posts: 1185
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 12:02
Location: Wales, UK.

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by VegasNath »

HansV wrote:... rather arrogant and descending replies......
Yes, having spent an hour or so browsing their boards, that seems to be 'normal' practice there. :sad:
:wales: Nathan :uk:
There's no place like home.....

moktarious
StarLounger
Posts: 61
Joined: 08 Oct 2011, 21:25

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by moktarious »

Sorry folks just got back from work....well the excel thing look interesting...so where do I start? Explain me how I will do what u said please. Btw I did not know any about Pcomm and I was able to make 2 script that are working just fine with your help and dedication. MILLIONS thanks to both of u, and like I told to HansV I know one day I will become handy to one of you, and he knows what I am talking about ;)

svkota07
NewLounger
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Nov 2012, 10:22

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by svkota07 »

Hello,

I am trying to record a macro (To Copy and paste) from one mainframe to the other( session A to Session B)
but the macro is not recording or capturing the data from the other screen. It is just recording in one screen itself.

Please help me to fix this issue

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78512
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by HansV »

Welcome to Eileen's Lounge!

I'm afraid that our PCOMM expert VegasNath is no longer active in our board, and we don't have anyone else who knows PCOMM. Sorry!
Best wishes,
Hans

User avatar
VegasNath
5StarLounger
Posts: 1185
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 12:02
Location: Wales, UK.

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by VegasNath »

Hello, long time no speak .. I wouldn't know how to achieve that within mainframe having only ever been familiar with working on a single session basis. I've not been at work for quite some time so am well out of the mainframe loop currently to be able to offer any reliable assistance. I imagine that excel vba could be used to manipulate between the two sessions quite easily but I'm not convinced that a pcomm macro could handle that as I imagine both sessions are independent. Sorry if this is sketchy, am typing on a mobile phone.
:wales: Nathan :uk:
There's no place like home.....

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78512
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by HansV »

Hi Nathan, nice to see you back! I hope you're OK.
Best wishes,
Hans

User avatar
VegasNath
5StarLounger
Posts: 1185
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 12:02
Location: Wales, UK.

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by VegasNath »

Hi Hans, just a fleeting visit for now, will hopefully be back at some point soon, had a rather bad year but hope to be back on my feet shortly. Glad to see the friendly community still here!!!
:wales: Nathan :uk:
There's no place like home.....

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78512
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: PComm - Macro that will fill information for you.

Post by HansV »

Best wishes, and come back whenever you feel like it!
Best wishes,
Hans