Option Group

Spider
StarLounger

Option Group

Post by Spider »

Hi all,
I am pretty new with option groups and have been researching them - but I cannot get them to behave on my form.
I'm adding a survey to an existing database so I will be having about 23 option groups on a tab control form - hope that is not a problem.

At first I used the wizard to say I did not want a default - but every one I created had a default anyway - the last option choice was defaulted.
So, I added a "No Answer" to the group and used the wizard to say I wanted it to default to "No Answer" with a value of "0".
But now there is no default selected.

I know that the default should be set at the group level - but what I thought I understood is that:
- In the properties of the option group - I should "Name" each group -so I did -example: Q1a
- I should say something like [Q1a]=5 in the Default Property in the properties box
I'm assuming that the "5" above is the option in the group that I want to be the default.

I would like a "No Answer" default.
Is there something I'm missing?
Thanks so much.
Vicky

HansV
Administrator

Re: Option Group

Post by HansV »

Each of the option buttons within an option group (a frame around the option buttons) has an Option Value property. The Option Values of the option buttons within one option group should be unique, but there's no objection to different option groups having the same range of option values.

When you open the form and click one of the option buttons, the Option Value of that option button will be the Value of the option group as a whole.

If you set the Default Value of an option group to the Option Value of one of the option buttons within the group, that option button will be pre-selected when you open the form. If you leave the Default Value blank, none of the option buttons will be pre-selected, and the value of the option group will initially be Null.