Proper Case in an Access 2007 Form

User avatar
teachesms
2StarLounger
Posts: 170
Joined: 05 Feb 2010, 18:04
Location: Jacksonville, NC

Proper Case in an Access 2007 Form

Post by teachesms »

I used to use a piece of VBA code in the After Update event to force proper case in an Access field eg. LastName (this worked in the Access 2003 database)

Private Sub LastName_AfterUpdate()
Me.LastName = StrConv(Me.LastName, vbProperCase)
End Sub

It's no longer working in Access 2007 (a new db, not converted).

I also seem to remember a piece of SQL code that worked as well...it went something like:

docmd.(my SQL Statement) and a 3 was involved to describe Proper Case...but can't remember how that went either, but remember applying it I think to a line in my Lookup tab (possibly the source line) for that fields properties...I don't recall its been so long.

Anyway...
How can I force Proper Case in a field for example called LastName within the form in Access 2007. Has anyone else had a problem with this not working in Access 2007.

Thanks ahead for any help on this.
If you can't convince them, confuse them - Harry S. Truman

Nannette

User avatar
mbarron
2StarLounger
Posts: 112
Joined: 25 Jan 2010, 20:19

Re: Proper Case in an Access 2007 Form

Post by mbarron »

Code: Select all

Private Sub LastName_AfterUpdate()
Me.LastName = StrConv(Me.LastName, vbProperCase)
End Sub
Works as expected for me in 2007

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78485
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Proper Case in an Access 2007 Form

Post by HansV »

The After Update code works correctly for me too in Access 2007. In what sense doesn't it work for you?
- You get an error message - if so, what does it say?
- It doesn't do anything.
- It does something different from what you intended - if so, what?

Have you checked for missing references in Tools | References in the Visual Basic Editor?
Best wishes,
Hans

User avatar
SteveH2508
NewLounger
Posts: 18
Joined: 24 Feb 2010, 20:38
Location: Chelsea, Greater London, England

Re: Proper Case in an Access 2007 Form

Post by SteveH2508 »

Have you checked that macros are enabled or that the db is in a Trusted Location?
Access/Excel Dabbler
Windows XP SP3/Windows 7/O2K/O2007

User avatar
HansV
Administrator
Posts: 78485
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 00:14
Status: Microsoft MVP
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands

Re: Proper Case in an Access 2007 Form

Post by HansV »

Steve has a very good point. See Enable or disable macros in Office documents for more details.
Best wishes,
Hans

User avatar
teachesms
2StarLounger
Posts: 170
Joined: 05 Feb 2010, 18:04
Location: Jacksonville, NC

Re: Proper Case in an Access 2007 Form

Post by teachesms »

I have tried it at work, instead of at home, and it seems to work just fine here. I did take the extra step and place the db as a trusted source. It could have been the step that disallowed it to work.

Thanks everyone. I'm good to go on this!
If you can't convince them, confuse them - Harry S. Truman

Nannette