Running an Access Application on a Website

Carol W.
3StarLounger

Running an Access Application on a Website

Post by Carol W. »

I'm considering developing an Access application that would be accessible to a (non-profit) group via a website. I'm fairly confident in my Access skills but have little experience in developing a web application.

So, I went looking (using Google, of course) for something that would allow an Access app to be run in a web environment. I came up with this product. I haven't finished looking. This was one of the first products I found.

There is a fully functional 30 day free trial of ASP Maker 8. Before I download/install it, I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with this product or has any alternate suggestions.

Thanks in advance.
Carol W.

Wendell
4StarLounger

Re: Running an Access Application on a Website

Post by Wendell »

I haven't had experience using ASPMaker, though I have had some experience doing websites using ASP. I observed that it was number 73 on the list of Web Development Software on CNET - which doesn't mean a whole lot in my view. I did note that FrontPage 2003 was the 4th most popular product in this category recently, which seems surprising since it is no longer part of the Office product. Also note that Access Data Pages are no longer supported. Access 2010 does offer some attractive features for publishing an Access database to the web in conjunction with SharePoint, and seems to be the direction Microsoft is pointing. Note however that it doesn't work all that well for databases with tables that contain a large number of records. Some questions that might point you in one direction or another. Are you hosting this on a commercial site, or on a local server? If on a local server, what is the OS - Windows or Linus? What version of Access is being used?
Wendell
You can't see the view if you don't climb the mountain!

Carol W.
3StarLounger

Post by Carol W. »

Wendell,

Thank you for the reply.