Workgroup Templates and global/add-in template

Leanne
NewLounger

Workgroup Templates and global/add-in template

Post by Leanne »

I've got quite a few templates - each with our office address information in them (about 25 offices). I have a master file with all addresses in it and each address is saved as an Autotext. Pre-Word 2007, when I'd have a change to an address, I'd make the change to the master file then copy the Autotext through the organizer. This worked slick and didn't encounter any problems. Now, with Word 2007, I must save each office Autotext into either the building blocks template or normal template. I end up having to insert the address into the template, select/save as Autotext in that particular template, save, and continue on to the next template.

Also, some of the templates have a Autotext list, where hovering the mouse over it or right-clicking it will have the list of addresses to choose from. Pre-Word 2007 the list was based on the style used - worked perfectly. Now, it doesn't seem to be style based. If I delete/change an address, right-clicking shows the entire list of building blocks or whatever it may feel like showing. This is very frustrating and I then have to insert each address into the template, select and resave as an Autotext entry, delete the address, save the template, and continue on to the next.

Could there possibly be an easier way in 2007 to do this? I'm wondering if it's possible to remove each of the office addresses from each template then have each of those templates look at my master office address list file. The templates are saved on and accessed from each office server. I'd prefer to have the master office address file saved in the same location so I don't think a global template/add-in would work.