My Network Places

jstevens
SilverLounger
Posts: 2328
Joined: 26 Jan 2010, 16:31
Location: Southern California

My Network Places

Post by jstevens »

I have an old laptop with XP which I connected to my network and changed the WORKGROUP to a new workgroup name which my other computers connect to: Example = NEW_WORKGROUP.

When I use Windows Explorer and view "Microsoft Windows Network" under "My Network Places" I can see the all the computers within the NEW_WORKGROUP. I also see USB partitions under WORKGROUP for an External USB drive connected within my network. This is the challenge. I would have expected them to appear under NEW_WORKGROUP not WORKGROUP.

I did not map the drive to the external USB drive what I did do was type the following in the Windows Explorer Address: \\IPAddress\PartitionName.

Any ideas as to how to get it to appear under NEW_WORKGROUP?
Regards,
John

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 11048
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: My Network Places

Post by StuartR »

First thing to do is to try clearing all the entries in the NETBIOS name cache. Open a command window (with administrator privileges) and type
nbtstat -R
note that the -R is case sensitive

Here's some reading about nbtstat in case you are interested...
StuartR


jstevens
SilverLounger
Posts: 2328
Joined: 26 Jan 2010, 16:31
Location: Southern California

Re: My Network Places

Post by jstevens »

Stuart,

I ran nbtstat -R and it did remove the entries. When I retyped in \\IPAddress\PartitionName it still shows up in WORKGROUP not NEW_WORKGROUP.
Regards,
John

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 11048
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: My Network Places

Post by StuartR »

Has EVERYTHING been rebooted since workgroup names were changed?
StuartR


jstevens
SilverLounger
Posts: 2328
Joined: 26 Jan 2010, 16:31
Location: Southern California

Re: My Network Places

Post by jstevens »

Stuart,

Yes, it was rebooted. When the workgroup name is changed you are prompted to reboot.
Regards,
John

User avatar
StuartR
Administrator
Posts: 11048
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 15:49
Location: London, Europe

Re: My Network Places

Post by StuartR »

You are only prompted to reboot the computer on which the workgroup name changed, not every other computer which might have seen the old workgroup name
StuartR